UK Connexion Logo

The UK CONNEXION

Event Reviews

Zoom Happy Hour
Fri, Feb 19, 2021
Zooming with Susan... what fun we are having! She has kindly hosted these Friday evening events, and I have only recently joined in. After an email request to our host, the link into Zoom comes at or shortly after 6 p.m. and it takes a few minutes to get us all in from the waiting room. Susan and other members name a topic of conversation for the 40-minute check-in and Susan "directs the traffic" to ensure that we've heard from everyone. Fun topics have included our scariest memory (one mentioned being caught on a high ski lift as a child), or our favourite means of transportation (a few sailors in the bunch!), and in Lew Smith's memory, we had a slide show of the Canal Boating adventure that Pat, Anna, and I had with him. Spurred on by this weekly adventure, I've investigated what it means to have a "green screen" and background pictures from my own collection, along with the extras like funny glasses. As we get through this gloomy month of February, when a few of us would otherwise be in a warmer place, this is a cheery gathering.

Thanks to Susan and all of you who participate!
Liz McG.

Five Day Walking Challenge
Feb, 2021
For five days in the month of February, Maria Alexander suggested that UKC members join her in a virtual walk to Niagara as we cannot meet up in person right now. We wouldn’t have attempted to walk to Niagara in February but it sounded doable virtually!

Sadly only three of us actually walked, logging our steps daily. Due to weather conditions and old injuries there were days when we didn’t walk much but between the three of us in five days we walked 52 Kms in total. According to a website I found the driving distance from Toronto to Niagara is 141 Kms so we walked approximately 37% of the way there.We will try to do better next time we set out and hopefully more members will join us, maybe when the weather gets a bit warmer.
Wendy H.

UKConnexion Virtual Book Group
Wed, Jan 27, 2021
The first virtual book group event was held on Wednesday January 27 with members “meeting” via Skype, eagerly waiting to share their thoughts on the book, Where the Crawdads Sing, written by Delia Owens. We found the book both touching and fascinating, describing a small coastal town in North Carolina and the lives of its inhabitants, as well as being full of facts about the local habitats of birds, animals, insects, and fish. It was also a murder mystery (with an ending none of us expected!). Members recommend it. We enjoyed our nibbles and wine during the second half of the meeting, while we voiced our thoughts on some of the interesting questions Julia (who suggested the book) laid out for us. Our next meeting is on February 24 and we will be discussing War: How Conflict Shaped Us, written by historian Margaret MacMillan.

The book was suggested by Vivienne, who will lead us into discussion.
Christine Q.

UKC Zoom Happy Hour
Fri, Jan 8, 2021
Zoom Click on image for Slideshow
Seven members got together on Zoom on January 8, drinks in hand, to discuss a wide range of issues and exchange personal anecdotes. Initial discussion was about the usual aches and pains associated with getting old but decided that still being alive, and active, was a good thing, and the fact that the fact that the oldest member had a few aches after Cross-Country skiing yesterday was only to be expected. The topic then moved to careers of the participants and their children and how they were often inspired to go into a particular career by a teacher. One member felt that being a lawyer was the worst job which stirred some debate, especially with another member whose daughter was a lawyer. About teachers; a member with childhood Eastern European roots described a good male teacher, who was rather old fat and ugly, but ended up marrying a rather attractive 18-year-old female student. She got really good grades! Some elderly male UKC members felt that was still hope for them.

Thanks to Susan B. for organizing.
Peter W.

Downtown Mystery Tour
Wed, Dec 23, 2020
Mystery Tour Click on image for Slideshow
What a delightful event hosted by Jackie on December 23. The weather to begin with was a bit chilly, but when the sun came out it was quite pleasant. The five of us met at the corner of College & Yonge and with coffees in hand we walked south towards the Ryerson building – one of the mystery locations Jackie wanted to show us. Then along Dundas W we entered the old Anglican church courtyard that sits beside the Eaton Centre and passed very interesting architecture dotted with a few people who unfortunately have to live in a tent community just outside a church. From there we viewed the windows at The Bay – all done up with robotic figures (Santa’s new-age elves?) managing the production lines full of presents and candy canes. From there we made our way towards City Hall and got some tasty French-fries at the curb-side "chip wagon". Then we sat and ate them by the skating rink watching the skaters having fun and keeping their social distance from each other, of course! Afterwards we strolled over to the snack bar and got hot chocolate and then walked and sat in a sunny but sheltered area by the Christmas tree, enjoying some conversation about our Christmas plans and beyond.

Thank you, Jackie. A most enjoyable walk and great company.
Christine Q.

Walk in Kew Gardens
Fri, Dec 18, 2020
Kew Gardens Click on image for Slideshow
Rose Marie led us through Kew Gardens on December 18, pointing out the ancient majestic trees, some of which resembled characters (if your imagination allowed you!). Then she showed us the fairy house all decorated for the season (in-between the feet in this picture). We strolled down to the beach, enjoying the newly expanded boardwalk along with the gorgeous sunshine beaming down on us. After a while we deviated and went down to the shore – Lake Ontario looking just like an ocean there. New bays appeared to have been constructed recently, perhaps for safe shielded swimming in the summer?

We finished our lunchtime adventure with French fries and cappuccino/hot chocolate from the beach restaurant, picnicking on a bench in Kew Gardens.

Thanks go to Rose Marie for organizing this event – worth repeating later in the season.
Jackie B.

Walk around the Evergreen Brickworks
Thu, Dec 3, 2020
Evergreen Brickworks Click on image for Slideshow
Thanks to host Christine, on December 3 we enjoyed a very pleasant walk and visit to the grounds within The Evergreen Brickworks, a former quarry from the early 1900's. The weather was sunny with a comfortable temperature. We walked around the outer premises passing many of the original buildings that manufactured the bricks found in such iconic buildings such as Casa Loma, Osgoode Hall and Massey Hall. We walked along the pathways overlooking a partly frozen pond, where we even saw a beaver's dam.

We headed to the on-site coffee shop to get a hot beverage and take it outdoors where we could sit and eat our packed lunch. It was a great opportunity to catch up with one another about current affairs and share our opinions on recent Netflix series. This was a highlight for me. We wandered into the gift shop and saw some very nice Christmas decorations along with bottles of jams and jellies to buy.

I'm hoping we can return to this location again in the next month or so if and when they open up the skating rink.
Bonita

A Visit to the McMichael Art Gallery
Sat, Nov 28, 2020
McMichael Art Gallery Click on image for Slideshow
On Saturday, November 28, Ann Garnett led a small group of UK Connexion members – we were five in all, two men and three women – in a visit to the McMichael Art Gallery in Kleinburg. After going through the Gallery’s careful pandemic precautions, we were treated not only to the regular exhibits of the Group of Seven painters as well as Canadian indigenous artists, but also to special exhibits featuring female indigenous artists. Most of us hadn’t been to the McMichael Gallery for a long time, so it was a good way to get reacquainted with the iconic artists of the Group of Seven and the most famous indigenous artists such as Norval Morrisseau, and to get to know the new artists featured in the special exhibits.

Afterwards, it being a beautiful day for late November, we ate lunch outdoors near the sculpture gardens, then had a short hike on the trails around the grounds, ending at the memorial cemetery where six of the Group of Seven, plus the McMichaels, are buried.

Thanks go to Ann for a most enjoyable and informative visit.
Tony A.

Zoom Happy Hour
Fri, Nov 27, 2020
Zoom 3 Click on image for Slideshow
Members 'met' on Zoom to chat and exchange thoughts from their experiences over the past week. All were happy to see Martin B, who had not joined us for the last couple of weeks. We talked about our preparations for Christmas. Outdoor themes included Peter's winter tree and Brenda's garden decorations. Gabi told us about her indoor decorations and plans for more activities in the coming days leading up to Christmas. Winter activities were a popular topic. Cross country skis and skiing were in the thoughts of several members. Old equipment was to be replaced, and many were amused by the descriptions of the existing items that still had a home in several basements. Peter recommended Sail as a good place to shop for outdoor equipment.

Ed entertained us with jokes, leading to lively discussion and laughter. Our closing topic was to be positive. Ed told us about Victoria state in Australia, where 5 million people live. Today they have been Covid free for 28 days, and have discharged the last patient from hospital. Brenda reminded us to watch the Santa Claus parade on TV on December 5.

Our Zoom meetings are no substitute for meeting in person in a pub or restaurant, but they let us share our good experiences and frustrations with a group of friends at a difficult time. Many thanks to Susan for organizing. Please come and join us. We would welcome you.
Vivienne W.

Hike in Terra Cotta Conservation Area
Sun, Nov 8, 2020
Terra Cotta Click on image for Slideshow
On November 8th nine UKC members joined Mary and her dog Zacky for a hike in the Terra Cotta Conservation area. We couldn’t have picked a better day, weather was glorious. The walk was originally scheduled for the previous Sunday but was cancelled because of the bad weather. It’s hard to believe the weather could do such an about face in just one week.

We walked for about an hour then stopped for a lunch break. We found a few large logs and spaced ourselves out - like socially distanced peas in a pod ! Terra Cotta was beautiful, offering wooded walks, lake and ponds. There was an area of sugar maple trees that had been tapped - the taps were joined by tubing which seems a good way to collect the sap. I had not seen that before.

Zacky did a great job in checking up on us, waiting for any stragglers as we walked at different paces. For me personally it was good to meet some members I didn’t know and I think we did a good job of mixing and walking/talking with different people.

Great way to spend a beautiful day in November and in these challenging times.
Wendy H.

Philosophers Walk
Wed, Nov 4, 2020
Philosophers Walk Click on image for Slideshow
Maureen C organized a wonderful walk for us on the most beautiful November Wednesday! After meeting at the ROM, we walked to Philosophers Walk, the hidden gem whose entrance is just west of the ROM on Bloor Street. From there we meandered along the paths, reading the park bench inscriptions, admiring the trees’ changing colours and observing the historic British-style buildings around University of Toronto. Despite quite a lot of construction and renovation, we were able to admire the lovely grounds of this beautiful area. Quite a number of others were out enjoying the glorious weather, from soccer players on the U of T green to others keen to explore the Hart House area – all socially-distanced, of course! Then we made our way back alongside Queen’s Park having thoroughly enjoyed our 90 minutes of socializing and friendship. The only missing part was more members to enjoy this lovely Wednesday with...

Many thanks to Maureen for making the effort to arrange this, hopefully not deterred from planning more outings by the lack of respondents!
Jackie B

Zoom Happy Hour
Sat, Oct 17, 2020
Zoom Happy Hour Click on image for Slideshow
Twelve UKC members gathered on October 17, virtually, for a Zoom meeting from the comfort of their homes – even though there were a number of people using fake backgrounds featuring exotic locations. With drinks in hand to toast each other, the discussions started off with talk about Halloween and what it would be like in the time of Covid. Members suggested their favourite Halloween movies to watch in the absence of door-to-door Trick-or-Treating. Somehow, the topic moved to tips and techniques for opening screw caps on bottles and jars with some interesting suggestions provided.

From Halloween discussion moved to Santa Claus and various holiday traditions from around the world with contributions from members who moved to Canada from other countries. With winter in mind the discussion moved to how to keep your feet warm in winter with some interesting suggestions including; heated socks, hot water bottles, and microwaveable bags of cherry pits! For the more adventurous, at least in their younger years, there were discussions about winter camping, but none of the members indicated that they were planning to do any winter camping this year.
Peter W.

Social Distance Hike Humber River
Sat, Oct 17, 2020
Hike Click on image for Slideshow
Wow! Did Dorothy pick a gorgeous Fall day for this 9 kilometre walk through the woods of James Gardens to the Old Mill! Six intrepid hikers enjoyed the beautiful sunshine and the gorgeous scenery along the way. We spotted salmon jumping upriver on the Humber and navigated the many spectators along the banks! Then we enjoyed a leisurely picnic at a convenient fire pit seating area.

A fantastic hike and perhaps one of the last in the milder weather? Thank you so much for leading this hike, Dorothy!
Kayren H

Afternoon Stroll in Mt. Pleasant Cemetery
Wed, Oct 14, 2020
It was wonderful to meet with the group and see familiar faces once again. Six members came out to enjoy the afternoon. It was a beautiful day, with amazing weather giving us plenty of sun and fresh air. We walked through the cemetery, observing various headstones and chatting along the way. Another member of the group joined us for the last leg of the walk.

Many thanks to Christine Q. for organizing such a smoothly run event. A good time was had by all!
Helen M.

Hike Wilket Creek Park/Edwards Gardens
Sat, Oct 10, 2020
Hike Wilket Creek Click on image for Slideshow
On Thanksgiving weekend, Saturday October 10, a group of UKC members enjoyed a hike along the Bata Trail with many trees in full fall colour and the forest floor covered in crimson red and orange leaves. Circling Edwards Garden there were many beautifully coloured mums and other fall floral arrangements observed before the group headed to the Don Mills Trail south back to the parking lot where the hike started just as the very dark clouds appeared.

An enjoyable hiking route.
Jo-ann D.

Zoom Happy Hour
Fri, Oct 9, 2020
Zoom Click on image for Slideshow
With our beverage of choice in hand we joined Susan in her friendly and welcoming Zoom Room. After Susan greeted us all, both old friends and new, she introduced a talking point to break the ice. This time it was “What have you planned for Thanksgiving?”

It was fun to hear everyone’s plans including even some menus for the meals to come. The conversation flowed naturally as we sipped our preprandial cocktails. And, “frosting on the cake”, Susan sent us all photos taken at various times throughout Happy Hour.
Brenda W.

Golf Fun Day
Sat, Oct 3, 2020
Golf Fun Day Click on image for Slideshow
Eight enthusiastic UKC golfers met at Scarlett Woods Golf Course on a cool, crisp and mainly sunny October 3rd for a great game of golf respecting COVID 19 protocols. Many trees on the golf course were in their full vibrant fall colours of various reds, oranges or yellows. There was also a large eagle observed near the 18th hole circling high up before perching on one of the large trees. All participants completed the 18 holes with several golfers making visits to the sand traps to rescue their golf ball and a number of golf balls disappearing into the creek.

Many thanks to our organizer Dorothy for hosting another great golf day.
Jo-ann D.

Walk in Don Mills
Wed, Sep 23, 2020
Walk Don Mills Click on image for Slideshow
On September 23 under bright sunny skies and accompanied by our masks and sanitizers, our friendly walkers enjoyed a leisurely stroll through this gem of a trail, one of the many trails and parks of the Don Valley. In fact we crossed the Don Valley Parkway itself through an underpass. In open air we had picturesque views of streams, fields, bridges and much greenery. We had a happy stop where we all sang Happy Birthday to our own birthday girl Christine!

Many thanks to Lisa for hosting.
Audrey R.

Hike in Palgrave Conservation Area
Sun, Sep 20, 2020
Palgrave Hike Click on image for Slideshow
Although the 33 kilometres of Palgrave trails are marked, you could easily get lost in what may seem like a maze. Luckily on September 20 we did not get lost as our host, Mary, guided us along, with some help from her dog, Zacky. Of course I am kidding, but it was the last Sunday of the summer, a time for fun and outdoor activity, which was exactly what we did; celebrating summer with a great day out. It was a small but lively group. The seven members in attendance had an approximately 2-hour hike through fairly thick forest and met a few fellow hikers, bikers and even horses along the way. Zacky kept the wild animals away (lucky us).

It was a Sunday well spent. Thank you Mary for hosting so well.
Ada G.

Humber River Hike/Picnic Lunch
Sat, Sep 12, 2020
Humber River Hike Click on image for Slideshow
Dorothy led six UKC members on an energetic walk in James Gardens along the Humber River last Saturday which turned out to be a lovely warm sunny day. We enjoyed our social distancing lunch just before the Old Mill Bridge which was reminiscent of one seen in an English manor house garden and Karen joined us there for the return trek. As we looked across the river, we were delighted to see a majestic heron out fishing and later in the woods we were captivated by an awesome skeleton of a giant dead tree which was very impressive.

Needless to say, a good time was had by all.
Marilyn G.

Nature Hike Through Wilket Creek Park
Sat, Sep 5, 2020
Wiket Creek Click on image for Slideshow
On the morning of Saturday Sept 5, a group of UKC members set out on an energizing hike through Wilket Creek Park forested areas and around the playing fields of Sunnybrook Park, stopping briefly for lunch on the south end of Sunnybrook Park. The weather was perfect. Afterwards, the group gathered for refreshments at the Bier Markt, Shops at Don Mills.

Thanks to everyone for joining in the event.
Jo-ann D.

Social Distancing Garden BBQ Lunch
Sun, Aug 30, 2020
BBQ Lunch Click on image for Slideshow
Full marks to the UK Connexion for pioneering a full scale Garden Party and pulling it off without a hitch. Our wonderful Audrone offered to host us in her garden as it is nice and spacious with awnings for shade and plenty of space for Social Distancing. There was not one scary moment: everyone followed the spacing and serving rules (see below) perfectly – except her super-friendly dog Gaia who could not resist befriending all these guests and goodies!
  Audrone and John had planned it meticulously: all the food was served on a point-and-serve basis by two helpers. The food was amazing in its range and excellence. There was a huge BBQ laden with 4 choices of meat and baked potatoes to die for.
  In case you are still scared here are the practical points to think of ... all do-able safely with some forethought:
  • There was plenty of space to stay 6 feet apart and move around to mix with others.
  • The servers wore gloves to serve all the condiments, sauces for the BBQ, drinks and desserts.
  • All the salads were pre-plated under saran wrap together with each person's utensils.
  • The washroom was equipped with wipes and a garbage bag to dispose of them after wiping all the handles etc.
  • ...and what would we do without disposable everything...

Advice to other clubs: there is still a lot of nice weather yet – so you can enjoy outdoor events like this and stay safe. For me it was the highlight of this COVID summer!
Ann G.

A huge thank you to host Audrone! And to two veteran members, Ann and Lisa, who willingly offered to be servers. They performed their very arduous tasks with charm and smiles wearing masks and gloves This COVID-19 compliant party would not have been possible without their help.
John P.

Golf Fun Day
Sat, Aug 14, 2020
12 golfers had an enjoyable 18 holes of golf, on a warm and sunny day at the Scarlett Woods Executive golf course. In spite of COVID-19, we were able to golf and keep the required distancing without any inconvenience, and the refreshment cart was available to quench our thirst if needed. Following golf, 2 non-golfers joined 10 golfers on the patio of the London Pub for dinner and conversation. The quick service was very welcome after an afternoon on the fairways.

Many thanks to Dorothy for organising golf and dinner.
Maureen C.

Mount Pleasant Cemetery Hike
Wed, Aug 5, 2020
Mount Pleasant Click on image for Slideshow
Late in the afternoon on Wednesday August 5, eleven UKC members met at Mount Pleasant Cemetery at Yonge and Davisville. I assume that our organizer and leader, Christine, has really good connections with the gal in charge upstairs, as Christine has worked in various religious places, and the weather she arranged was absolutely perfect for our stroll through the cemetery to Mount Pleasant Road. Along the way we discovered the last resting place of William Lyon Mackenzie King, a rather humble grave for a former Prime Minister of Canada. Circling back to Yonge and Merton, eight of the party gathered at The Firkin pub, The Bull, for beer, wine and tasty food delivered by really welcoming staff who looked after us well. Conversations on our table were wide ranging and interesting, a great ending to a sunny summer day.

Thanks to everyone for joining in the fun, and to Christine for getting us together.
Eileen S.

Edwards Gardens
Wed, Jul 29, 2020
Edward Gardens Click on image for Slideshow
On Wednesday, July 29 a group of 15 members met to enjoy a walk through Edwards Gardens in Don Mills. The trees and flowers were in full bloom and so enjoyable noticing the number of different trees to discover. We walked through the Garden’s pathways admiring the different variety of flowers surrounding the pathways in such a well appointed manner. A few members ventured as far as the edge of Wilket's Creek and Sunnybrook Park. The weather was definitely on our side, hot, sunny and no rain showers. After we exhausted ourselves we headed to a nice outdoor patio in the Shops at Don Mills to enjoy a beverage and light dinner. A great opportunity to spend some time with UK Connexion members and find out how we are all coping these days.

These Gardens would be nice to re visit in the fall to enjoy the trees with their fall colours on display. See you there in the fall.
Bonita

Ontario Place
Mon, Jul 20, 2020
Ontario Place Click on image for Slideshow
Thanks to Ann Garnett for organizing a delightful walking tour along the recently re-landscaped “William G Davis Trail” and the Ontario Place Boulevard which run along the Ontario Place waterfront. Ann managed to arrange for wonderful weather conditions with a mix of sun and cloud and a refreshing breeze off the lake which made it extremely comfortable for walking, while the rest of the city was sweltering in the summer heat. Attendees brought a picnic lunch which was eaten, under the shade of nearby trees, at tables and chairs associated with a snack bar that was not open at the time.

To round off the walk, the group adjourned to a covered patio in Liberty Village for a well-earned libation.
Peter W.

Golf Fun Day
Sun, Jul 19, 2020
Sunday July 19th Golf Fun Day started with great promise. However, by the 4th green, the clouds darkened, and the thunder and lightning occurred one event after the other. We had debated whether to continue golfing as the previous occurrence told us the storm was extremely close!! Then the Marshall arrived and shouted, "Go back now"!! We started running, but by this time the rain was coming down in sheets accompanied by the light and sound show that seemed to be directly over our heads. EXTREMELY SCARY!! We ran as quickly as possible pulling or pushing our golf carts and getting soaking wet!! It took my golf shoes 4 days to dry!!

At the clubhouse afterwards, I was able to get rain checks for our players to use at our next GOLF FUN DAYS on August 15 or September 19.
Dorothy B-B

Bier Markt, The Shops at Don Mills
Wed, Jul 15, 2020
Bier Markt Click on image for Slideshow
Thanks to Lisa for organizing an excellent get-together to kick off the start of the UKConnexion summer schedule. The venue was the patio of the Bier Markt, not the downtown one, but the one located at the Shops at Don Mills. This is a delightful shopping and dining location, at Lawrence and Don Mills, which is mostly dedicated to pedestrians. There were plenty of umbrellas on the patio to keep the strong late afternoon sun off our group of twelve, which was socially distanced at three different tables. Members were, however, able to get up and move around a bit to socialize with the other tables. Among the beverages was, of course, good German beer along with local Craft and other brews.

As usual, the Bier Markt food and service was excellent and nobody went home hungry. Well done Lisa!
Peter W.

Kettle Creek Golf
Sat, Jun 28, 2020
June 28 was a very warm and sunny day as seven UKC members trekked up to Kettle Creek Golf Course north of Toronto for a great game of golf and camaraderie while social distancing and following the golf COVID-19 restrictions and protocol. The drive to the golf course was very scenic and relaxing observing forested areas and open fields throughout the journey. Despite the extreme heat it was a very enjoyable afternoon with all participants completing the 18 holes with a few golf balls disappearing into the creek and a number of golf balls retrieved from the sand traps.

Many thanks to our organizer Dorothy for an incredible day and Pauline for making arrangements with Kettle Creek Golf Course. It was a change from our usual venue at Scarlett Woods Golf Course.

Humber River Hike
Sat, Jun 27, 2020
Hike Click on image for Slideshow
The June 27 hike turned out very well. We had excellent weather – sun, with some cloud, and shade which helped reduce the heat a little. James Gardens, the starting point for most of us, is a gem of a place for walking/hiking/biking with the Humber River always in view. We walked the trail as far as the Old Mill to join the first group and enjoyed our "reunion" picnic lunch as well as good conversation and offers to host events during July, August and September. We had a total of 16 members, so in accordance with the health guidelines Joan split us into two groups - one led by Joan and one by Dorothy. We welcomed some new people and hope they will join us again. Let's hope we have many more of these healthy and enjoyable walks throughout the summer.

Thanks to Joan and Dorothy and all those who participated.
Christine Q.

Golf
Sat, Jun 20, 2020
It was great to see everyone again at the June 20 golf event and a good turnout. Ten enthusiastic golfers came out, 3 men and 7 women. There was also a new lady who joined us. The day was a bit warmer than we might have liked but I think all we all enjoyed ourselves in spite of that. Maybe next time we will be able to sit on the patio and have a cool drink.

Our thanks to Joan for organizing the event. Although we socially distanced during this event, golfing together made life seem more normal, considering the on-going COVID19 pandemic.
Pauline

New Orleans Jazz Grossman's Tavern
Sat, Mar 7, 2020
Thirteen UKC members attended Grossman’s Tavern on March 7 to listen the good Dixieland jazz provided by the Happy Pals. We were told that jazz has been playing at Grossman's for 50 years and the jazz this night was excellent! It was so good that the whole UKC group were up dancing. Afterwards the group went to The Red Room for good food and conversation.

Kudos to Rosemary for organizing what has to be one of the best UKC events. If you have not tried Grossman’s, you do not know what you are missing. Hope we see you next month.
Ron K.

Granite Brewery
Sun, Mar 8, 2020
Granite Brewery Click on image for Slideshow
A group of fourteen members joined our host, Maureen, at the Granite Brewery on Sunday March 8 for a jolly evening of mingling and dinner. The Granite has definitely become one of the favourites on the monthly club calendar. The conversations, at times heated, made for a fun evening.

Many thanks to Maureen for organizing the event and a special shout out to Ryan, our trusty waiter.
Anna M.

Movie Night and Popcorn
Sat, Feb 22, 2020
Ten of us movie lovers gathered at our hostess Christine's apartment on Saturday February 22 to see the classic film "The Pink Panther" made in 1963 and featuring Peter Sellers among other stars. Christine and her guests provided a wonderful selection of goodies to nibble on and lots of wine and other drinks, and we had time to chat before the film began. I personally love "The Pink Panther" and remember seeing it for the first time in England. It is still the funniest movie I have ever seen and we were all laughing heartily throughout the film and after when talking about it.

My sincere thanks to Christine for showing us the film and being a wonderful hostess. I'm sure we are looking forward to the next movie night.
Marilyn G.

Dinner/Mingling Elephant & Castle
Sun, Feb 2, 2020
E & C Click on image for Slideshow
Although it was a damp and dreary evening on February 2, a goodly number of members joined us including two new members, Hazel and Linda. We enjoyed some good pub food and a few drinks, with conversation ranging from Brexit, spring holiday destinations, Meghan and Harry, jig-saw puzzles and cats, as well as other topics of interest.

Great service from our server, Lindsey.
Christine Q.

Band Swing Jazz and Dancing, Smokeshow
Sat, Jan 25, 2020
Our first event at Smokeshow on Saturday afternoon, January 25, was a great success. Our charming host, Marilyn, arranged good seating with a view of the band. They played well and their vocalist, Cheryl Lyn, has a fabulous voice. The food and beverages were reasonably priced.

Thanks, Marilyn. Always a pleasure to attend your events.
Christine Q.

Squire Pub Restaurant
Sun, Jan 19, 2020
Squire Pub Click on image for Slideshow
An intrepid group of UKC members braved winter’s snowy streets and frigid temperatures to meet up for a simply delightful gathering at the Squire on Sunday evening, January 19. We were thoroughly warmed by the pub’s specials of chicken pot pie and hot curries. Jolly conversation also ruled the evening.

Many thanks to Chris for organizing the event.
Anna M.

Scrabble Party and Dinner
Sat, Jan 18, 2019
Scrabble Party Click on image for Slideshow
On the "snowiest" night of the New Year, Saturday January 18, eight UKC members braved the storm. A strong incentive was our welcoming host Jackie in her lovely apartment. The evening started, around the coffee table with appetizers and lively conversation, then on to the serious stuff, a great roast chicken, meal, followed by Scrabble.

The two teams of four played two games, with a break for coffee and dessert, and then we left for home knowing many new words to confound people with.
Rennie F.

Opera Movie
Wed, Jan 15, 2020
A small group of UKC opera enthusiasts got together on January 15 to attend a showing of the French Opera by Massenet entitled "Manon". This opera/film is a production from the Met Opera in New York. The performances, especially of young American leads Michael Fabiano and Lisette Oropesa, delighted the New York audience. During the intermissions, we were treated to some interesting "behind the scenes" insights, including interviews with the two leads, some of the production personnel, and from the staff located in the trailer outside the House who are responsible for transmitting the MET productions to numerous locations around the world.

We all agreed it was a pleasant way to spend a cold January afternoon.
Maureen C.

Granite Brewery
Sun, Jan 12, 2020
Granite Brewery Click on image for Slideshow
Thirteen people attended the event at the Granite Brewery on January 12th. There was a good mix of men and ladies and we were provided with a great spot to mix and mingle. This venue is getting more popular every time. The food and the service are great, the prices are very reasonable.

For those who drive there is free parking, for others the short bus ride isn't really necessary as the easy walk to the pub takes only ten minutes along Eglinton.
Cheri W.

The Madison Pub
Sun, Jan 5, 2020
Madison Pub Click on image for Slideshow
Our second visit to The Madison Pub on January 5 proved as successful as our first. Thank you, Christine, for hosting such a fun evening at this long established institution. Altogether 17 UKC members enjoyed great conversation, food and drink, while telling stories about their holiday festivities. Our server, Sarah, dealt happily with us, despite so many food and drink orders.

I think we all look forward to our next visit to The Madison Pub in March. See you there!
Maureen D.

Granite Brewery
Sun, Dec 8, 2019
Granite Brewery Click on image for Slideshow
Great evening December 8 at Granite Brewery thanks to Maureen Delaney. The conversation was superb and one outstanding feature of super host Maureen was that she went around speaking with each participant, making sure that everyone was happy. Two new attendees, Bill and Mike, were very enthusiastic and promised to return.

Thanks Maureen.
Chris B.

Dinner/Mingling Squire Pub Restaurant
Sun, Nov 17, 2019
Squire Pub Click on image for Slideshow
Village Players Theatre
Sun, Nov 17, 2019
Village Players Click on image for Slideshow
Well, I never saw that coming! I'm sure this was said by all 11 UKC members (including two new members, Nanette and Pat who just joined – welcome ladies!) who attended "Murder Weapon" in the afternoon of Sunday Nov. 17. The play, performed by the Village Players, was very well constructed with excellent acting. Everybody then visited Bread and Roses for an "after theatre" repast. Garry, one of our newer members, was lucky enough to win the 50/50 draw organized by the theatre and he treated all the members of UKC to a coffee/tea or snack.

Thank you very much, Garry, and Mary for organizing such a fun afternoon. We look forward to the next Village Players performance.
Maureen D.

Dinner/Mingling Granite Brewery
Sun, Nov 10, 2019
Granite Brewery 3 Click on image for Slideshow
On Sunday, November 10, eleven UKC members enjoyed an evening with plenty of conversation and good food. We welcomed new member, Indy Kulvieks, and were glad to have Cheri back with us. A good time was had by all who attended.

Bravo to Maureen for organizing what is becoming a popular UKC event.
Ron K.

Theatre Evening at the Tranzac Club
Fri, Nov 8, 2019
On Friday, November 8th I had the good fortune to see the play “Night Watch” written by Lucille Fletcher and directed by Ken Stern. This was my first outing with the UK Connexion and my first experience at the Tranzac Club. I would certainly recommend this theatre to anyone who likes live theatre. The cast was excellent and the play was intriguing with the most surprising outcome. Members from the UK Connexion were very inviting and friendly and it made for a most enjoyable evening.

I look forward to attending other events with this lovely group.
Diane B.

Streetsville Bowl, Mississauga
Tue, Nov 5, 2019
Streetsville Bowl 2 Click on image for Slideshow
Mary hosted another fun and economical afternoon of bowling at Streetsville Bowl in Mississauga. All the participants this time were female and each bowled some good frames. Some of the ladies did very well. For example, Edel got 2 strikes in a row. Pauline had 2 strikes and 2 spares in one game and 1 strike and 3 spares in a later game. The automatic scoring system is very colourful and has an interesting variety of images to encourage the bowlers. Afterwards, most of the ladies had lunch at Cagney's restaurant which is right next door to the bowling alley.

It was an enjoyable way to spend a November afternoon. Thank you Mary!
Joan B.

Elephant & Castle
Sun, Nov 3, 2019
E and C Click on image for Slideshow
Thanks to Christine we had a wonderful time at Elephant and Castle. It was a great night, very quaint with animated but friendly arguments and a good mix of pleasant conversation. All in all a very successful event.

Thanks Christine.
Chris B.

Abbey Road Pub, Mississauga
Thu, Oct 24, 2019
Abbey Road Click on image for Slideshow
"KILLER" was the name of the darts game I taught my fellow UKC members which we played before and after a dinner to "DIE" for. Apart from the company, the food at Abbey Rd keeps us coming back, (their curry sauce is still the best on chips I've ever found in Canada), no complaints were made about any of the menu sampled and the $6.50 per pound Wing Night also went down a treat. Back to the dart board with full tummies and Tim's team versus Kim's cleaned up in "Cricket". Not everyone had played before making it so much more fun with the waitresses as well as other team members dodging errant arrows!

Sadly, the Karaoke started later than advertised but maybe next time at the rematch.
Kim B.

Opera Night Movie
Sat, Oct 19, 2019
Opera Night Click on image for Slideshow
What a pleasant way to spend an evening; eight fine people enjoying the amazing opera, L’Elisir d'Amore. Not only did Lynda Brown get us together on October 19 to enjoy this famous love story (which ends so beautifully), but the drinks and nibbles were varied and plentiful.

Everyone enjoyed the heavenly sounds from Vienna with Anna Netrebko (soprano) and Rolando Villazon (tenor). The famous aria had us lost in love accompanied by Lynda’s own Love Potion – a thoughtful tie-in with the theme of this romantic opera.
Marjorie D.

Lunch at Chelsea Restaurant
Fri, Oct 18, 2019
Chelsea Restaurant Click on image for Slideshow
On October 18, a lovely Friday afternoon, ten UKC members (including several new members) enjoyed a nice homemade meal and lively conversation the Chelsea Restaurant. The Quiche Lorraine as usual went very fast. The owner of the restaurant, Alan, also offered a mysterious vegetarian Quiche and had to run back to his wonderful wife, Sanju, who does all the cooking, to find out what was in this mysterious quiche.

Alan offers his very good dry sense of humour as entertainment which we all enjoyed at our favourite Port Credit restaurant.
Mary J.

Dinner/Mingling Granite Brewery
Sun, Oct 13, 2019
Granite Brewery Click on image for Slideshow
t was a lovely evening to walk over to the Granite Pub (on Mount Pleasant) on Sunday, October 13, with a good crowd of members attending who mingled, chatted, sipped on their drinks, and then sat down to some tasty fare. Brigit, our server, handled everything very efficiently. It was good to see new and familiar faces, including Gayle T. and Maureen B. and Helen.

Maureen, our host, is both gracious and fun-loving and welcomed us all warmly.
Christine Q.

Madison Avenue Pub
Sun, Oct 6, 2019
Madison Pub Click on image for Slideshow
A horde of very excited, but “sophisticated”, UKC members descended on the Toronto University favourite on Sunday for an evening of mingling, jolly conversation and pub food feasting. The most popular meal on the menu was the coconut curry, however, my giant side of fries seemed to draw a lot of commentary. The venue made for a nice change.

Many thanks to Christine for organizing the evening.
Anna M.

Dinner at the Bier Markt
Sun, Sep 29, 2019
Bier Markt Click on image for Slideshow
Village Players Theatre
Sun, Sep 22, 2019
VIllage Players Theatre Click on image for Slideshow
On Sunday, September 22nd, at 1.30p.m. 8 ladies and 2 gentlemen met at the Village Playhouse on Bloor Street to see an excellent performance of Tennessee Williams’ play The Glass Menagerie. The Village Players have a very high standard, as was demonstrated by the performers, who interpreted their difficult roles very convincingly. Afterwards, the party adjourned to the 'Bread and Roses' bakery/cafe to enjoy a variety of delicious meals and sweet treats.

All in all, a very pleasant afternoon! Many thanks to Mary for organizing this event.
Joan H.

Golfing Fun Day
Sat, Sep 21, 2019
Golfing Fun Day Click on image for Slideshow
On a beautiful late summer day 16 enthusiastic golfers gathered to play 18 holes of golf at Scarlett Woods golf course. We welcomed several new faces who joined us. One of them being my sister visiting from Alberta. Wildlife in the form of squirrels and ducks plus a muskrat was seen by one of our players. The prizes were won by newcomers Malcolm (longest drive) and Jack (closest to the pin). Congrats to both who each won a sleeve of golf balls. (At the presentation in the club house, John explained that the prizes are financed from a memorial fund set up for long-time member Cliff. Cliff passed at age 92 a few years ago. In 1944, his RCAF Lancaster bomber was shot down and he spent the rest of World War II incarcerated at Stalag Luft III of “Great Escape” fame.) After the prizes were awarded, we moved on to the London Gate Pub where we were joined by 4 more members for dinner.

Everyone seemed to enjoy a variety of dishes and eating on the patio as the sun was setting on a gorgeous day.
Pauline A.

Streetsville Bowl, Mississauga
Tue, Sep 10, 2019
Bowling Click on image for Slideshow
For some of us, it had been many years since we last went bowling. All 7 participants bowled some great frames, such as strikes or spares, and some not so great frames, with one or more gutter balls. The computerized scoring system was fabulous, including the many colourful and entertaining characters and words that appeared on the screen in response to our bowling skills. From the computerized system, we learned some abbreviations and terms that are commonly used in 5-pin bowling, such as A for Aces, C for Chop, and S for Split. The staff at Streetsville Bowl were friendly and helpful. What a fantastic deal for 3 games, including shoes and tax.

Thank you to Mary for arranging this event and for being such a welcoming host. It was a very enjoyable afternoon.
Joan B.

New Orleans Jazz at Grossman's Tavern
Sat, Sep 7, 2019
On Saturday afternoon September 7, fifteen jazz lovers met up at Grossman's Tavern on Spadina for 2½ hours of New Orleans Jazz. "The Happy Pals" band played Dixieland jazz and blues with gusto and was enjoyed by all. One of our members, Jack Pitts, joined the band with his tuba to delight of the other 14 members. An enjoyable Saturday afternoon with jazz and friendly faces in a down-to-earth pub setting.

Afterwards some of the members went across Spadina to enjoy a meal at the Red Lounge.
Judith J.

Dinner/Mingling, Elephant & Castle
Sun, Sep 1, 2019
Click on image for Slideshow
It was wet and gloomy weather. Inside the Elephant and Castle was warm and welcoming. Eleven ladies and three guys gathered from 5:30 onwards. Continuous conversations on gun violence, the Amazon burning, Hurricane Dorion, our Great Lakes, cottages, who attends what events, and so on until food came.

Fueled by drinks and well fed on favourites like shepherd's pie and fish and chips or more tantalizing fare of vindaloo or butter chicken, we whiled away an entertaining evening at this this iconic Pub in a convenient location on King St West opposite Roy Thomson Hall.

Thanks to our gracious host Christine Quinn who made sure we were introduced all round.
Polly C.

Corn Roast, Barbecue & Dancing at Toronto Hydroplane & Sailing Club
Sat, Aug 31, 2019
Click on image for Slideshow
Gorgeous weather, waterfront venue, good friends and excellent food with live music to boot. Can life deliver anything better?

We had this and more at a gathering at the THSC. Ten members attended this event. Marilyn did a very good job at making everyone feel very welcome. She took us on a very informative tour of the club facility including a visit to some of the boats moored at the club. Marilyn also provided the basic nibbles and wine prior to the Club bar opening.

Thank you Marilyn for a fun afternoon and evening.
Tim de M.

Darts/Dinner Abbey Road Pub
Sat, Aug 24, 2019
A fun evening! Thirteen people attended the event which included several new members – including myself. Mary went out of her way to ensure that all felt welcome. The food served was excellent – also the service.

Because of the numbers we had two sets of competition. This ensured that all had a chance to experience the joy of throwing darts. By the end of the evening all members felt quite competent at the game and are looking forward to the next darts evening event.

Thank you Mary for organizing this fun event.
Tim de M.

Midweek Fun at the Bedford Academy
Thu, Aug 22, 2019
Bedford Academy Click on image for Slideshow

Dinner/Mingling at The Granite Brewery
Sun, Aug 11, 2019
Click on image for Slideshow
More than a dozen members enjoyed circulating and then dining at The Granite Brewery on the evening of Sunday August 11.

A good selection of beer, cider and wine were offered and most of us were well-satisfied with our generous and reasonably-priced dinner selections. Being a large restaurant, the laughter/noise we made was not a problem and Maureen's well-organized and gracious hosting made everyone comfortable and happy.

A well-rescued switch from The Rose, whose doors closed suddenly, Maureen switched the event with apparent ease!

We all look forward to your next event, thanks.
Jackie B.

Golfing Fun Day
Sat, Aug 3, 2019
Golfing Fun Day Click on image for Slideshow
A group of avid golfers joined host Joan for an afternoon round of golf at Scarlett Woods Golf Course on Saturday August 3rd. The day was very sunny and hot with a few passing clouds. Despite the heat and humidity all golfers successfully completed all 18th holes with some interruptions as golfers rustled through bushes and fished on the river banks for missing golf balls. After some relaxation and refreshments at the golf club house the group went to the London Gate Pub for dinner with additional UK Connexion members joining for good drinks and food.

Many thanks to our organizer Joan for an awesome day!
Jo-Ann D.

Scrabble with Dinner
Sat, Jul 27, 2019
Scrabble Dinner Click on image for Slideshow
The little grey cells were challenged on Saturday July 27 when eleven of us gathered for a Scrabble evening at Jackie's lovely home. Fuelled with a delicious super-supper of chicken and brain-friendly salads we got down to the business of the board armed with a Scrabble dictionary and a cheat sheet of weird two letter words. Fortunately one brain in the group (cheers Margaret!) was able to figure out a formula for calculating the scores of an uneven number of players – Yes, there were prizes!! Good company, lots of challenges and laughs.

A fun evening all round.
Meg L.

Garden BBQ Lunch
Sat, Jul 27, 2019
Garden BBQ Lunch Click on image for Slideshow
On Saturday July 27 we enjoyed Audrone's fabulous backyard party. Audrone is a very good host and she took good care of her guests. The gourmet barbecue was good and plentiful. It was a perfect warm summer day for an outdoor feast; a brief shower was no problem as we had four marquees. Audrone is very generous intellectually and culturally, so there was excellent conversation to accompany the food.

Thank you Audrone.
Chris B.

I would just like to say how enjoyable the time was last Saturday July 27. The location of Audrone's house was ideal, the food was excellent and the company stimulating. Although the drive to and from my home in Waterloo was, to say the least, taxing, the wonderful meal and engaging conversation made the time behind the wheel worthwhile.
Roy G.
UKC Golf Tournament & London Gate Pub
Sat, Jul 13, 2019
London Gate Click on image for Slideshow
A group of golfers joined host Joan at Scarlett Woods Golf Course on July 13. It was a warm and sunny day for most of the day, and the course was at its summer finest , except for some holes which were under repair and redesign. John won the prize for “Closest to the Hole” on the 4th hole, was the only golfer to get the ball on the green from the tee. As one group was on the 18th hole and another on the 17th, a squall line passed over the course, and it started raining heavily. Both groups got to the club house rather wet, but the weather raged while we watched the pouring rain from inside, sipping our refreshments. When the rain stopped we went to the London Gate Pub for dinner (some going home along the way to change) and met a further half-dozen people who hadn't golfed. The pub was the former Wild Goose, which went through a change of ownership with some redecorating – it now has a very British motif appropriate for our club.

Thank you, Joan, for organizing a splendid day!
Tony A.

Jazz at Benares House
Fri, Jul 12, 2019
Benares House Click on image for Slideshow
You never know what surprise you will get at a UKC event. Oli and I were spoiled by four gentlemen. Guys, we did try to get more ladies to join us. The weather was perfect for this outdoor concert. The Octokats cool jazz band was very entertaining. At the band's break, we went on a tour of the Benares historic house. After, we all went to the nearby Clarkson Pump and Patio for good food and drinks at reasonable prices. We enjoyed lively conversation, a little politics, but mainly sports, dancing, vacations, and lots of laughing.

Thank you Oli for hosting another unique UKC event.
Mary J.

ROM Walk - The Danforth
Wed, Jul 10, 2019
ROM Walk Click on image for Slideshow
There's the purple umbrella! Five of us went on the Historic Danforth ROM Walk on July 10. The lively tour guide answered many questions from our group of 26. Crowds in attendance can number as much as one hundred, in a few separate groups, each with a guide. We saw beautiful heritage homes, flowers and gardens, historical churches, the Music Hall, bowling alley floor and more. Two members went for food and refreshments afterward. A pleasant outcome – so why not make the effort?

Thanks go to UKC host Filomena.
Gayle T.

Elephant & Castle
Sun, Jul 7, 2019
Twelve people including the host enjoyed dinner and conversation at the Elephant and Castle this past Sunday evening. There is a wide "pub-grub" menu, and a good selection of wines, beers and ciders. Our server, Victoria, catered to our needs. If you are free on the first Sunday of the month starting at 6:30 pm, then please join us for a lively and fun evening. No registration necessary - just come along (and bring a friend if you wish!)
Christine Q.
Glen Haffy Hike, Caledon
Sun, Jul 7, 2019
Glen Haffy Hike Click on image for Slideshow
On Sunday, July 7, Joan, Dorothy, John and Ron joined Arnold on a strenuous 8-kilometer Glen Haffy Hike. The hike included steep long climbs and descents as well as two streams to cross. The weather could not have been better and all enjoyed hiking through the forest with only the sounds of birds chirping and the stream flowing. After the hike, we went to The Toby Jug in Bolton where Mary and Keith joined us for lunch and pleasant conversation.

Thank you to Arnold for organizing the hike.
Ron K.

Islington Art Walk & St. James Gate Pub
Sat, Jul 6, 2019
Islington Walk Click on image for Slideshow
On Saturday, July 6th, despite it being quite a warm and humid day, the ART WALK, was an enjoyable and educational event. We met up at Islington subway station and walked north along Islington to the corner where Montgomery Inn is located. Then we headed west along Dundas St. West to see 28 beautiful murals. In total, it is about 15,000 square feet of outdoor art in what was the Village of Islington. It is a collection of primarily, photo realistic art that illustrates actual people, places and events from the past which help viewers today connect to the area’s history. Many of the murals are set in the early 1900s. Then we cooled off in the well air-conditioned St. James Gate Pub, while we enjoyed a delicious lunch, beverages and good conversation.

Members felt it was an enjoyable way to spend a summer Saturday together.
Joan B.

Climax Jazz Band, The Leaside Pub
Sat, Jun 29, 2019
Leaside Pub Click on image for Slideshow
On Saturday, June 29, 19 UKC members gathered at The Leaside Pub to listen to the Climax Jazz Band. There were 16 ladies present, enough for Ron, Ed and Peter to share. As usual, the band provided a good afternoon of Dixieland jazz. The highlight of the afternoon was listening to 96-year-old Dorothy Rose who performed 2 numbers each set. She told us that she began her singing career at the age of 17 in 1939 when she was asked to perform in a show for the soldiers going to war. And she has been entertaining with marvellous voice ever since. She will be celebrating her 97th birthday and the Climax Jazz Band will be honouring at their next show at The Leaside Pub on July 20. Marilyn has already booked that date as a UKC event and I would encourage any member that wants an afternoon of good jazz and great singing by Dorothy Rose to come out.
Ron K.
Gabby's Pub and Concert
Fri, Jun 28, 2019
Gabby Pub Click on image for Slideshow
Thanks to Polly’s marvellous organizational skills, more than a dozen ladies met on June 28th, the Friday of the long weekend, to share each other’s company over pub food at Gabbys on Bloor, before heading off to the magnificent Church of the Redeemer at Avenue Rd/Bloor to listen to a performance at the Jazz Festival. Being an active volunteer with the organization, Polly worked fast to spread the word about this remarkable Iranian/Zimbabwean/German/Canadian accomplished guitarist who played his own imaginative compositions, some paired with his Iranian drummer friend. The acoustics in the church were brilliant, as are the beautiful stained glass windows, the decorated ceiling and the altar—the church alone was worth the visit! It appears that men aren’t interested in jazz—are they?
Jackie B.
Old Stable Pub/Chelsea Restaurant
Sat, Jun 22, 2019
Old Stable Pub Click on image for Slideshow
On a nice sunny, breezy evening, 11 people mingled at the Old Stable Pub then met up with 3 others at the Chelsea Restaurant.

Fourteen of us enjoyed a nice home cooked meal, lots of laughs and good conversation.
Mary J.

Popcorn/American Comedy Movie
Sat, Jun 15, 2019
On June 15, seven UKC Members gathered at Christine's apartment for an evening of laughs to watch the 1980 movie Airplane. Initially we laughed at the dated clothes and hairstyles but there were so many jokes and surprises in the background that it was difficult to avoid missing priceless of gems of comedy. It was a really funny film and a great choice by Christine. Our wonderful hostess had asked us to eat first, but offered a selection of cheeses, crackers, homemade cookies and snacks to us plus popcorn of course.

This was a fun and very enjoyable evening and I am looking forward to the next movie.
Marilyn

Hike in High Park and Lunch at Grenadier Café
Sun, June 9, 2019
Hike Click on image for Slideshow
On Sunday, June 9th, a group of UKC members met for a bracing walk through High Park. The morning was warm but not too hot with a light breeze...perfect for the occasion. Despite heavy cloud cover the weather man was trusted not to send any rain, and eight walkers (7 ladies and 1 gentleman) set off down the steep path toward the Zoo, where a stop was made to view the Residents and learn from a helpful volunteer some interesting facts about them ...the peacocks obligingly displayed their wonderful fantails! Some intrepid walkers ventured almost down to the QEW...while another (who shall be nameless!) broke away from the group and accepted a ride up to the restaurant, where everyone gathered shortly after noon. Three more members (2 ladies and 1 gentleman) joined the group, so 11 people by this time, more than ready for a good tuck in, sat down on the patio for a selection of delicious dishes. The entire cloud cover had rolled away, enabling diners to enjoy the meal in brilliant sunshine.

All in all, a very worthwhile and enjoyable experience. Many thanks to Joan and Dorothy for once more organizing this popular event.
Joan E.H.