UK Connexion Logo

The UK CONNEXION

Event Reviews

Dinner/Mingling Squire Pub Restaurant
Sun, Nov 17, 2019
Squire Pub Click on image for Slideshow
Village Players Theatre
Sun, Apr 17, 2019
Village Players Click on image for Slideshow
Well, I never saw that coming! I'm sure this was said by all 11 UKC members (including two new members, Nanette and Pat who just joined – welcome ladies!) who attended "Murder Weapon" in the afternoon of Sunday Nov. 17. The play, performed by the Village Players, was very well constructed with excellent acting. Everybody then visited Bread and Roses for an "after theatre" repast. Garry, one of our newer members, was lucky enough to win the 50/50 draw organized by the theatre and he treated all the members of UKC to a coffee/tea or snack.

Thank you very much, Garry, and Mary for organizing such a fun afternoon. We look forward to the next Village Players performance.
Maureen D.

Dinner/Mingling Granite Brewery
Sun, Nov 10, 2019
Granite Brewery 3 Click on image for Slideshow
On Sunday, November 10, eleven UKC members enjoyed an evening with plenty of conversation and good food. We welcomed new member, Indy Kulvieks, and were glad to have Cheri back with us. A good time was had by all who attended.

Bravo to Maureen for organizing what is becoming a popular UKC event.
Ron K.

Theatre Evening at the Tranzac Club
Fri, Nov 8, 2019
On Friday, November 8th I had the good fortune to see the play “Night Watch” written by Lucille Fletcher and directed by Ken Stern. This was my first outing with the UK Connexion and my first experience at the Tranzac Club. I would certainly recommend this theatre to anyone who likes live theatre. The cast was excellent and the play was intriguing with the most surprising outcome. Members from the UK Connexion were very inviting and friendly and it made for a most enjoyable evening.

I look forward to attending other events with this lovely group.
Diane B.

Streetsville Bowl, Mississauga
Tue, Nov 5, 2019
Streetsville Bowl 2 Click on image for Slideshow
Mary hosted another fun and economical afternoon of bowling at Streetsville Bowl in Mississauga. All the participants this time were female and each bowled some good frames. Some of the ladies did very well. For example, Edel got 2 strikes in a row. Pauline had 2 strikes and 2 spares in one game and 1 strike and 3 spares in a later game. The automatic scoring system is very colourful and has an interesting variety of images to encourage the bowlers. Afterwards, most of the ladies had lunch at Cagney's restaurant which is right next door to the bowling alley.

It was an enjoyable way to spend a November afternoon. Thank you Mary!
Joan B.

Elephant & Castle
Sun, Nov 3, 2019
E and C Click on image for Slideshow
Thanks to Christine we had a wonderful time at Elephant and Castle. It was a great night, very quaint with animated but friendly arguments and a good mix of pleasant conversation. All in all a very successful event.

Thanks Christine.
Chris B.

Abbey Road Pub, Mississauga
Thu, Oct 24, 2019
Abbey Road Click on image for Slideshow
"KILLER" was the name of the darts game I taught my fellow UKC members which we played before and after a dinner to "DIE" for. Apart from the company, the food at Abbey Rd keeps us coming back, (their curry sauce is still the best on chips I've ever found in Canada), no complaints were made about any of the menu sampled and the $6.50 per pound Wing Night also went down a treat. Back to the dart board with full tummies and Tim's team versus Kim's cleaned up in "Cricket". Not everyone had played before making it so much more fun with the waitresses as well as other team members dodging errant arrows!

Sadly, the Karaoke started later than advertised but maybe next time at the rematch.
Kim B.

Opera Night Movie
Sat, Oct 19, 2019
Opera Night Click on image for Slideshow
What a pleasant way to spend an evening; eight fine people enjoying the amazing opera, L’Elisir d'Amore. Not only did Lynda Brown get us together on October 19 to enjoy this famous love story (which ends so beautifully), but the drinks and nibbles were varied and plentiful.

Everyone enjoyed the heavenly sounds from Vienna with Anna Netrebko (soprano) and Rolando Villazon (tenor). The famous aria had us lost in love accompanied by Lynda’s own Love Potion – a thoughtful tie-in with the theme of this romantic opera.
Marjorie D.

Lunch at Chelsea Restaurant
Fri, Oct 18, 2019
Chelsea Restaurant Click on image for Slideshow
On October 18, a lovely Friday afternoon, ten UKC members (including several new members) enjoyed a nice homemade meal and lively conversation the Chelsea Restaurant. The Quiche Lorraine as usual went very fast. The owner of the restaurant, Alan, also offered a mysterious vegetarian Quiche and had to run back to his wonderful wife, Sanju, who does all the cooking, to find out what was in this mysterious quiche.

Alan offers his very good dry sense of humour as entertainment which we all enjoyed at our favourite Port Credit restaurant.
Mary J.

Dinner/Mingling Granite Brewery
Sun, Oct 13, 2019
Granite Brewery Click on image for Slideshow
t was a lovely evening to walk over to the Granite Pub (on Mount Pleasant) on Sunday, October 13, with a good crowd of members attending who mingled, chatted, sipped on their drinks, and then sat down to some tasty fare. Brigit, our server, handled everything very efficiently. It was good to see new and familiar faces, including Gayle T. and Maureen B. and Helen.

Maureen, our host, is both gracious and fun-loving and welcomed us all warmly.
Christine Q.

Madison Avenue Pub
Sun, Oct 6, 2019
Madison Pub Click on image for Slideshow
A horde of very excited, but “sophisticated”, UKC members descended on the Toronto University favourite on Sunday for an evening of mingling, jolly conversation and pub food feasting. The most popular meal on the menu was the coconut curry, however, my giant side of fries seemed to draw a lot of commentary. The venue made for a nice change.

Many thanks to Christine for organizing the evening.
Anna M.

Dinner at the Bier Markt
Sun, Sep 29, 2019
Bier Markt Click on image for Slideshow
Village Players Theatre
Sun, Sep 22, 2019
VIllage Players Theatre Click on image for Slideshow
On Sunday, September 22nd, at 1.30p.m. 8 ladies and 2 gentlemen met at the Village Playhouse on Bloor Street to see an excellent performance of Tennessee Williams’ play The Glass Menagerie. The Village Players have a very high standard, as was demonstrated by the performers, who interpreted their difficult roles very convincingly. Afterwards, the party adjourned to the 'Bread and Roses' bakery/cafe to enjoy a variety of delicious meals and sweet treats.

All in all, a very pleasant afternoon! Many thanks to Mary for organizing this event.
Joan H.

Golfing Fun Day
Sat, Sep 21, 2019
Golfing Fun Day Click on image for Slideshow
On a beautiful late summer day 16 enthusiastic golfers gathered to play 18 holes of golf at Scarlett Woods golf course. We welcomed several new faces who joined us. One of them being my sister visiting from Alberta. Wildlife in the form of squirrels and ducks plus a muskrat was seen by one of our players. The prizes were won by newcomers Malcolm (longest drive) and Jack (closest to the pin). Congrats to both who each won a sleeve of golf balls. (At the presentation in the club house, John explained that the prizes are financed from a memorial fund set up for long-time member Cliff. Cliff passed at age 92 a few years ago. In 1944, his RCAF Lancaster bomber was shot down and he spent the rest of World War II incarcerated at Stalag Luft III of “Great Escape” fame.) After the prizes were awarded, we moved on to the London Gate Pub where we were joined by 4 more members for dinner.

Everyone seemed to enjoy a variety of dishes and eating on the patio as the sun was setting on a gorgeous day.
Pauline A.

Streetsville Bowl, Mississauga
Tue, Sep 10, 2019
Bowling Click on image for Slideshow
For some of us, it had been many years since we last went bowling. All 7 participants bowled some great frames, such as strikes or spares, and some not so great frames, with one or more gutter balls. The computerized scoring system was fabulous, including the many colourful and entertaining characters and words that appeared on the screen in response to our bowling skills. From the computerized system, we learned some abbreviations and terms that are commonly used in 5-pin bowling, such as A for Aces, C for Chop, and S for Split. The staff at Streetsville Bowl were friendly and helpful. What a fantastic deal for 3 games, including shoes and tax.

Thank you to Mary for arranging this event and for being such a welcoming host. It was a very enjoyable afternoon.
Joan B.

New Orleans Jazz at Grossman's Tavern
Sat, Sep 7, 2019
On Saturday afternoon September 7, fifteen jazz lovers met up at Grossman's Tavern on Spadina for 2½ hours of New Orleans Jazz. "The Happy Pals" band played Dixieland jazz and blues with gusto and was enjoyed by all. One of our members, Jack Pitts, joined the band with his tuba to delight of the other 14 members. An enjoyable Saturday afternoon with jazz and friendly faces in a down-to-earth pub setting.

Afterwards some of the members went across Spadina to enjoy a meal at the Red Lounge.
Judith J.

Dinner/Mingling, Elephant & Castle
Sun, Sep 1, 2019
Click on image for Slideshow
It was wet and gloomy weather. Inside the Elephant and Castle was warm and welcoming. Eleven ladies and three guys gathered from 5:30 onwards. Continuous conversations on gun violence, the Amazon burning, Hurricane Dorion, our Great Lakes, cottages, who attends what events, and so on until food came.

Fueled by drinks and well fed on favourites like shepherd's pie and fish and chips or more tantalizing fare of vindaloo or butter chicken, we whiled away an entertaining evening at this this iconic Pub in a convenient location on King St West opposite Roy Thomson Hall.

Thanks to our gracious host Christine Quinn who made sure we were introduced all round.
Polly C.

Corn Roast, Barbecue & Dancing at Toronto Hydroplane & Sailing Club
Sat, Aug 31, 2019
Click on image for Slideshow
Gorgeous weather, waterfront venue, good friends and excellent food with live music to boot. Can life deliver anything better?

We had this and more at a gathering at the THSC. Ten members attended this event. Marilyn did a very good job at making everyone feel very welcome. She took us on a very informative tour of the club facility including a visit to some of the boats moored at the club. Marilyn also provided the basic nibbles and wine prior to the Club bar opening.

Thank you Marilyn for a fun afternoon and evening.
Tim de M.

Darts/Dinner Abbey Road Pub
Sat, Aug 24, 2019
A fun evening! Thirteen people attended the event which included several new members – including myself. Mary went out of her way to ensure that all felt welcome. The food served was excellent – also the service.

Because of the numbers we had two sets of competition. This ensured that all had a chance to experience the joy of throwing darts. By the end of the evening all members felt quite competent at the game and are looking forward to the next darts evening event.

Thank you Mary for organizing this fun event.
Tim de M.

Midweek Fun at the Bedford Academy
Thu, Aug 22, 2019
Bedford Academy Click on image for Slideshow

Dinner/Mingling at The Granite Brewery
Sun, Aug 11, 2019
Click on image for Slideshow
More than a dozen members enjoyed circulating and then dining at The Granite Brewery on the evening of Sunday August 11.

A good selection of beer, cider and wine were offered and most of us were well-satisfied with our generous and reasonably-priced dinner selections. Being a large restaurant, the laughter/noise we made was not a problem and Maureen's well-organized and gracious hosting made everyone comfortable and happy.

A well-rescued switch from The Rose, whose doors closed suddenly, Maureen switched the event with apparent ease!

We all look forward to your next event, thanks.
Jackie B.

Golfing Fun Day
Sat, Aug 3, 2019
Golfing Fun Day Click on image for Slideshow
A group of avid golfers joined host Joan for an afternoon round of golf at Scarlett Woods Golf Course on Saturday August 3rd. The day was very sunny and hot with a few passing clouds. Despite the heat and humidity all golfers successfully completed all 18th holes with some interruptions as golfers rustled through bushes and fished on the river banks for missing golf balls. After some relaxation and refreshments at the golf club house the group went to the London Gate Pub for dinner with additional UK Connexion members joining for good drinks and food.

Many thanks to our organizer Joan for an awesome day!
Jo-Ann D.

Scrabble with Dinner
Sat, Jul 27, 2019
Scrabble Dinner Click on image for Slideshow
The little grey cells were challenged on Saturday July 27 when eleven of us gathered for a Scrabble evening at Jackie's lovely home. Fuelled with a delicious super-supper of chicken and brain-friendly salads we got down to the business of the board armed with a Scrabble dictionary and a cheat sheet of weird two letter words. Fortunately one brain in the group (cheers Margaret!) was able to figure out a formula for calculating the scores of an uneven number of players – Yes, there were prizes!! Good company, lots of challenges and laughs.

A fun evening all round.
Meg L.

Garden BBQ Lunch
Sat, Jul 27, 2019
Garden BBQ Lunch Click on image for Slideshow
On Saturday July 27 we enjoyed Audrone's fabulous backyard party. Audrone is a very good host and she took good care of her guests. The gourmet barbecue was good and plentiful. It was a perfect warm summer day for an outdoor feast; a brief shower was no problem as we had four marquees. Audrone is very generous intellectually and culturally, so there was excellent conversation to accompany the food.

Thank you Audrone.
Chris B.

I would just like to say how enjoyable the time was last Saturday July 27. The location of Audrone's house was ideal, the food was excellent and the company stimulating. Although the drive to and from my home in Waterloo was, to say the least, taxing, the wonderful meal and engaging conversation made the time behind the wheel worthwhile.
Roy G.
UKC Golf Tournament & London Gate Pub
Sat, Jul 13, 2019
London Gate Click on image for Slideshow
A group of golfers joined host Joan at Scarlett Woods Golf Course on July 13. It was a warm and sunny day for most of the day, and the course was at its summer finest , except for some holes which were under repair and redesign. John won the prize for “Closest to the Hole” on the 4th hole, was the only golfer to get the ball on the green from the tee. As one group was on the 18th hole and another on the 17th, a squall line passed over the course, and it started raining heavily. Both groups got to the club house rather wet, but the weather raged while we watched the pouring rain from inside, sipping our refreshments. When the rain stopped we went to the London Gate Pub for dinner (some going home along the way to change) and met a further half-dozen people who hadn't golfed. The pub was the former Wild Goose, which went through a change of ownership with some redecorating – it now has a very British motif appropriate for our club.

Thank you, Joan, for organizing a splendid day!
Tony A.

Jazz at Benares House
Fri, Jul 12, 2019
Benares House Click on image for Slideshow
You never know what surprise you will get at a UKC event. Oli and I were spoiled by four gentlemen. Guys, we did try to get more ladies to join us. The weather was perfect for this outdoor concert. The Octokats cool jazz band was very entertaining. At the band's break, we went on a tour of the Benares historic house. After, we all went to the nearby Clarkson Pump and Patio for good food and drinks at reasonable prices. We enjoyed lively conversation, a little politics, but mainly sports, dancing, vacations, and lots of laughing.

Thank you Oli for hosting another unique UKC event.
Mary J.

ROM Walk - The Danforth
Wed, Jul 10, 2019
ROM Walk Click on image for Slideshow
There's the purple umbrella! Five of us went on the Historic Danforth ROM Walk on July 10. The lively tour guide answered many questions from our group of 26. Crowds in attendance can number as much as one hundred, in a few separate groups, each with a guide. We saw beautiful heritage homes, flowers and gardens, historical churches, the Music Hall, bowling alley floor and more. Two members went for food and refreshments afterward. A pleasant outcome – so why not make the effort?

Thanks go to UKC host Filomena.
Gayle T.

Elephant & Castle
Sun, Jul 7, 2019
Twelve people including the host enjoyed dinner and conversation at the Elephant and Castle this past Sunday evening. There is a wide "pub-grub" menu, and a good selection of wines, beers and ciders. Our server, Victoria, catered to our needs. If you are free on the first Sunday of the month starting at 6:30 pm, then please join us for a lively and fun evening. No registration necessary - just come along (and bring a friend if you wish!)
Christine Q.
Glen Haffy Hike, Caledon
Sun, Jul 7, 2019
Glen Haffy Hike Click on image for Slideshow
On Sunday, July 7, Joan, Dorothy, John and Ron joined Arnold on a strenuous 8-kilometer Glen Haffy Hike. The hike included steep long climbs and descents as well as two streams to cross. The weather could not have been better and all enjoyed hiking through the forest with only the sounds of birds chirping and the stream flowing. After the hike, we went to The Toby Jug in Bolton where Mary and Keith joined us for lunch and pleasant conversation.

Thank you to Arnold for organizing the hike.
Ron K.

Islington Art Walk & St. James Gate Pub
Sat, Jul 6, 2019
Islington Walk Click on image for Slideshow
On Saturday, July 6th, despite it being quite a warm and humid day, the ART WALK, was an enjoyable and educational event. We met up at Islington subway station and walked north along Islington to the corner where Montgomery Inn is located. Then we headed west along Dundas St. West to see 28 beautiful murals. In total, it is about 15,000 square feet of outdoor art in what was the Village of Islington. It is a collection of primarily, photo realistic art that illustrates actual people, places and events from the past which help viewers today connect to the area’s history. Many of the murals are set in the early 1900s. Then we cooled off in the well air-conditioned St. James Gate Pub, while we enjoyed a delicious lunch, beverages and good conversation.

Members felt it was an enjoyable way to spend a summer Saturday together.
Joan B.

Climax Jazz Band, The Leaside Pub
Sat, Jun 29, 2019
Leaside Pub Click on image for Slideshow
On Saturday, June 29, 19 UKC members gathered at The Leaside Pub to listen to the Climax Jazz Band. There were 16 ladies present, enough for Ron, Ed and Peter to share. As usual, the band provided a good afternoon of Dixieland jazz. The highlight of the afternoon was listening to 96-year-old Dorothy Rose who performed 2 numbers each set. She told us that she began her singing career at the age of 17 in 1939 when she was asked to perform in a show for the soldiers going to war. And she has been entertaining with marvellous voice ever since. She will be celebrating her 97th birthday and the Climax Jazz Band will be honouring at their next show at The Leaside Pub on July 20. Marilyn has already booked that date as a UKC event and I would encourage any member that wants an afternoon of good jazz and great singing by Dorothy Rose to come out.
Ron K.
Gabby's Pub and Concert
Fri, Jun 28, 2019
Gabby Pub Click on image for Slideshow
Thanks to Polly’s marvellous organizational skills, more than a dozen ladies met on June 28th, the Friday of the long weekend, to share each other’s company over pub food at Gabbys on Bloor, before heading off to the magnificent Church of the Redeemer at Avenue Rd/Bloor to listen to a performance at the Jazz Festival. Being an active volunteer with the organization, Polly worked fast to spread the word about this remarkable Iranian/Zimbabwean/German/Canadian accomplished guitarist who played his own imaginative compositions, some paired with his Iranian drummer friend. The acoustics in the church were brilliant, as are the beautiful stained glass windows, the decorated ceiling and the altar—the church alone was worth the visit! It appears that men aren’t interested in jazz—are they?
Jackie B.
Old Stable Pub/Chelsea Restaurant
Sat, Jun 22, 2019
Old Stable Pub Click on image for Slideshow
On a nice sunny, breezy evening, 11 people mingled at the Old Stable Pub then met up with 3 others at the Chelsea Restaurant.

Fourteen of us enjoyed a nice home cooked meal, lots of laughs and good conversation.
Mary J.

Popcorn/American Comedy Movie
Sat, Jun 15, 2019
On June 15, seven UKC Members gathered at Christine's apartment for an evening of laughs to watch the 1980 movie Airplane. Initially we laughed at the dated clothes and hairstyles but there were so many jokes and surprises in the background that it was difficult to avoid missing priceless of gems of comedy. It was a really funny film and a great choice by Christine. Our wonderful hostess had asked us to eat first, but offered a selection of cheeses, crackers, homemade cookies and snacks to us plus popcorn of course.

This was a fun and very enjoyable evening and I am looking forward to the next movie.
Marilyn

Hike in High Park and Lunch at Grenadier Café
Sun, June 9, 2019
Hike Click on image for Slideshow
On Sunday, June 9th, a group of UKC members met for a bracing walk through High Park. The morning was warm but not too hot with a light breeze...perfect for the occasion. Despite heavy cloud cover the weather man was trusted not to send any rain, and eight walkers (7 ladies and 1 gentleman) set off down the steep path toward the Zoo, where a stop was made to view the Residents and learn from a helpful volunteer some interesting facts about them ...the peacocks obligingly displayed their wonderful fantails! Some intrepid walkers ventured almost down to the QEW...while another (who shall be nameless!) broke away from the group and accepted a ride up to the restaurant, where everyone gathered shortly after noon. Three more members (2 ladies and 1 gentleman) joined the group, so 11 people by this time, more than ready for a good tuck in, sat down on the patio for a selection of delicious dishes. The entire cloud cover had rolled away, enabling diners to enjoy the meal in brilliant sunshine.

All in all, a very worthwhile and enjoyable experience. Many thanks to Joan and Dorothy for once more organizing this popular event.
Joan E.H.

Abbey Road Pub & Patio
Fri, May 31, 2019
Abbey Road 2 Click on image for Slideshow
Abbey Road Pub is a popular and busy little neighbourhood establishment with dart boards and live music. Twelve people attended this UKC event including 3 men and 2 new beautiful ladies, Sylvia and May, who may be interested in joining UKC soon. We had a row of tables strategically located close to the dart boards and the spot where the band would play. The service was great and the food and drinks were very reasonable. Seven of us including champion Kim darts player, John, and 2 new first time players played darts. Kim's team won against Mary's team... let's compete again Kim and congrats on your work retirement!!! The Revolutions Band was excellent and not too loud. We all sang along to songs we knew and some ladies danced on stage.

We have to get more people up dancing there again.
Mary J.

Doors Open
Sun, May 26, 2019
At noon several members met with Jackie to walk and ride to "Doors Open" locations. We experienced beautiful weather, great architecture, small parks, tree-shaded historical streets, and a very interesting guided tour around Riverside. We also toured Casey House, a wonderfully renovated house for HIV patients on Jarvis Street. A very satisfying afternoon to add to our appreciation of our city of trees, Toronto.
Judith J.
Band Swing/Jazz & Dancing, ALLEYCATZ
Sat, May 25, 2019
Alleycatz Click on image for Slideshow
Our always gracious host, Marilyn, greeted each of us as we arrived at the restaurant. York Jazz Ensemble is a very entertaining nine-piece jazz, rock and blues band with a guest female saxophone player on that day. They played songs from 1920s to 1990s that we sang along with and danced to. Singer Cheryl Lyn Backman has a beautiful voice and certainly knows how to keep guests engaged in the action including dancing with us on the large dance floor while singing. We enjoyed our meals and fun conversations at band breaks. Many other friendly groups were at the Alleycatz and we felt very welcomed by them and Alleycatz management team.

Looking forward to seeing more UKC members joining us here for Marilyn's next event for dancing on the large dance floor and fun get-together!
Mary J.

Dim Sum Lunch at The Sky Dragon
Sat, May 18, 2019
The Sky Dragon Click on image for Slideshow
On May 18, a sunny spring day, fourteen hungry UKC friends met at the Sky Dragon restaurant for a delicious Dim Sum in the heart of Toronto’s Chinatown. Our brilliant hostess, Polly Clarke, greeted arrivals at the door of a shopping centre and directed us to the restaurant itself on the top floor. The place was hopping, with servers bringing several dishes on a trolley we could choose from. Once our orders were taken, the food kept on coming until we were happy, all the while sipping cups of green tea. Floor supervisors answered any questions, and made sure all our food arrived and that everyone enjoyed themselves. Each table sharing the cost of the communal meals made checking out easy and quick.

Thank you Polly for planning this tasty and convivial outing!
Filomena

Hike in Palgrave Conservation Area
Sun, May 12, 2019
Palgrave Hike Click on image for Slideshow
The hike at the Palgrave Conservation Area on May 12 was led by Arnold and Mary. Although it was an overcast day with a forecast of rain, there was none during the hike. I believe Arnold joked that he had contacted the 'god of rain' to stop it, and on the drive into Bolton immediately after the hike, it started to rain. Maybe Arnold has a personal friendship with the Aztec god, Tlaloc, God of Rain.

Car parking and traffic are light and easy to navigate in this area. The trail is well groomed; there are some steep hills, but something that anyone of average fitness can negotiate. It is located in a pine forest; the spring growth has started and there were fiddleheads along the way. They are a special treat in a salad. After, we stopped at the Toby Jug Pub in Bolton. I believe that the fish and chips that I had were the best that I have ever enjoyed. The service was unusually slow, they have always been so prompt, but I think that everyone found pleasure in their food when it did come.

To conclude, I have a thought from George Bernard Shaw, "We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing." We would love to see more people come out to enjoy the fresh air, and the pleasure of a challenge.
Keith R.

Village Players Theatre
Sun, May 5, 2019
Click on image for Slideshow
On a beautiful Sunday afternoon seven of us met at the great cafe called Bread and Roses for a snack or light lunch before the theatre. The food is very fresh, original and delicious, and I wish there was a cafe like this in my neighbourhood. Our lovely host Mary had a table picked out and ready for us, not easy in such a busy place. After eating it was an easy two block walk to the theatre to purchase our tickets (thankfully reserved as the play was sold out). Another four people from the UK Connexion joined us so 11 people in all came to see the play. We saw the comedy "Unnecessary Farce" which truly was hilarious and fast moving. We all left the theatre feeling good after laughing so hard and enjoying such a fun afternoon.

My sincere thanks to Mary for putting this together, for hosting this event and making sure everyone had a really great afternoon.
Marilyn G.

Climax Jazz Band - Leaside Pub
Sat, Apr 27, 2019
Climax Jazz Band Click on image for Slideshow
On Saturday afternoon on April 27, a number of UKC members enjoyed the warm hospitality of host Marilyn at the Leaside Pub. We enjoyed a few drinks along with the steak dinner ($10!). The Climax Jazz Band, led by Chris Daniels, is terrific at belting out great songs and tunes – pity there is no dance floor! The band was joined by Tim Allan, a world renowned banjo player and we all enjoyed listening to him. Dorothy Rose was in fine voice (at 96!) and the atmosphere was electric! Do come out and join the merry gang at the Leaside - you won't be disappointed.

Marilyn will be taking bookings again in June for this event! See your latest Newsletter for more details.
Christine Q.

Easter Monday Waterfront Stroll
Mon, Apr 22, 2019
Waterfront Stroll Click on image for Slideshow
The promise of a fine day lured 8 UKC members to Humber Bay Park for Oli's Annual Easter Monday Stroll along the waterfront. She led us through trails with ponds, bridges and occasional wildlife.

As the mist lifted we enjoyed views of downtown before heading to the Firkin on the Bay for a great lunch and conversation to top off the arrival of Spring.
John R.

Dark Horse Luncheon
Sun, Apr 14, 2019
Dark Horse Click on image for Slideshow
The traditional pub lunch was to be the culmination of ninety minutes of fresh air and exercise, hiking along the Humber River. However, the weather did not cooperate and with pending threats of sleet, snow, rain and high winds, our organizers, Dorothy and Joan, wisely decided to call off the hike, but not the lunch plans. So, twelve would-be hikers decided to meet for the lunch at the pub-style Dark Horse Restaurant on Bloor. The members who attended enjoyed great conversations in the relaxed atmosphere of the Dark Horse, and admired the restaurant's most interesting and quirky light fixtures – the like of which none of us had ever seen before! The food portions were generous and there was a wide range of beverages on offer to wash it down.

This is definitely a place to revisit, with or without a hike!
Peter W.

New Orleans Jazz Grossman's Tavern
Sat, Apr 6, 2019
Grossman's Tavern Click on image for Slideshow
An amazing band The Happy Pals, incredible New Orleans Jazz, wonderful dancing, drinks and chatter kept fifteen UKC members happily engaged at Grossman's Tavern on Saturday April 6. Then 4 gentlemen and 10 ladies sauntered over to 444 Spadina, the Red Lounge, to enjoy delicious food, inexpensive drinks, convivial and amusing conversations. It all ended too soon on this perfect spring evening!

Many thanks to our host Susan.
Polly C.

Darts & Dinner at Abbey Road Pub
Wed, Mar 27, 2019
Abbey Road Pub Click on image for Slideshow
BULLSEYE! That's what Mary scored March 27 when she hosted "Darts Night" at The Abbey Road Pub, a new venue for UKC in Mississauga. Not only is it a great little Beatles themed pub with delectable food, ambiance and choice of tipple but a great spot to have our Darts Challenge.

Wednesday is Fish and Chip night ($10) of which many of us partook (we voted the curry sauce the best) and those picking from the regular menu (I had the best veggie burger ever) were soon prepared for the upcoming challenge. Lori our server took amazing care of us while flitting across the area dodging the odd errant missile!

Team Ron with Phyl #1, Wendy, Maureen (dart trickster extraordinaire) and Oli put up a valiant effort against team Kim, (Phil #2, Mary (bullseye scorer), Joan and Teresa, but although neck-and-neck at time during our 2 games or cricket, lost by a nose. We had so much fun, no one bothered that most of us had never thrown a dart before and we can't wait for the rematch.
Kim H.

St. Patrick’s Day Party
Sun Mar 17, 2019
St. Patrick's Day Party Click on image for Slideshow
UK Connexion members thoroughly enjoyed themselves at the St. Patrick's Day party hosted by Rose Marie. The convenient location and well planned pot-luck event saw a great turn out of members. In addition to the grand assortment of food, the music for the evening was provided by an outstanding band / Mar's Band, "Mari Nicolson and Between the Static". The four-piece band played a range of tunes to include pop music from past decades, mixing in a few traditional Irish melodies as well. There was plenty of dancing, door prizes, voices singing along and chatter to be heard, thus providing for an evening of good "craic".

Thank you to Rose for hosting this event, to Louise for her contribution in designing such a creative event flyer, to all of those members in attendance and those who contributed to the pot-luck supper.
Mary Joan Q.

Hike Along the Humber River
Mon, Mar 11, 2019
Three bold optimists (Joan, John and Ann) showed up at James Gardens on Monday March 11th planning on a pretty hike down the Humber River to the Old Mill. Alas we were greeted by solid ice wherever we looked....so....not to be deterred we drove to the Old Mill where Susan joined us. When we crossed the bridge over the Humber river we all gasped: no wonder they close the parking lot, the entire river was one mass of ice blocks piled up right across the valley – a sight to behold if you haven't seen it!!!

In the end we had a gorgeous hike on dry roads in the surrounding area including Baby Point with its lovely olde houses, tennis court and views down into the Humber valley. We ended up at the Dark Horse pub on Bloor St where time flew and we left hours later after a very interesting lunch discussions. Thank you Joan for organizing such a lovely day – both scenically and socially.

Never be put off coming out by the winter conditions – the UK Connexion will always turn it into a nice outing!
Ann G.

Ryerson Photo Exhibition & Dinner
Sat, Mar 2, 2019
Ryerson Click on image for Slideshow
"True To The Eyes" is the title of the photography exhibit at the Ryerson Image Centre. On March 2nd, as the snow softly fell making magical trees of cotton-ball white outside, eleven UKC members assembled inside. The collection of Howard and Carole Tannenbaum engaged us in a vast array of pictures, photos, views, issues and individual reactions. There was early daguerreotype, memorabilia, and later developments in photography, comprising many artists, including well-known ones like Man Ray and our contemporary Edward Burtynsky... totally fascinating.

This was followed by a meal at Spring Rolls opposite the Eaton Centre. Their enticing menu left the ten women and two men with satisfied smiles. Conversation was lively and enlightening. Everyone agreed that it was a wonderful way to spend an afternoon (with such nice people!)
Polly C.

Band Swing/Jazz & Dancing - Leaside
Sat, Feb 23, 2019
AlleyCatz Click on image for Slideshow
Although a cold day, there was a full table of us at the Leaside Pub on February 23 to listen to the Climax Jazz Band (along with Dorothy Rose who at 97 still belts out the blues). Marilyn, our host, welcomed us all and it is always a pleasure to be part of her group. We chatted in between breaks, ate dinner (the menu includes a steak and trimmings for $10) and had a couple of drinks (all reasonably priced).

So, if you like Dixieland jazz and want to have an enjoyable Saturday afternoon, check our spring newsletter which will be available early April and book your seat at the Leaside table, via Marilyn.
Christine Q.

Dinner at the Bier Markt
Sun, Feb 10, 2019
A group of UK Connexion folk joined our host Chris on Sunday February 10 at the Bier Markt. We mingled at the bar, then went to our table to choose our meal from the extensive menu. The big favourite was their hand-pulled Pizza, which I am told is "yummy". The Bier Markt is on the Esplanade, handy to TTC and Green P parking.

Why not come and join Chris on the next date.
Rennie F.

New Orleans Jazz at Grossman's Tavern
Sat, Feb 9, 2019
Grossman's is the city's longest running live music venue and the Saturday night home of the Happy Pals and their own entertaining and lively style New Orleans Party Jazz. Twelve UKC members enjoyed themselves with hand clapping and toe tapping and the UKC's own 'Fred and Ginger' (Beryl and Ron) tried out the dance floor. At 7, nine of the twelve crossed Spadina to our usual restaurant for excellent food at very reasonable prices.

This monthly activity is always well attended and enjoyed. Thanks to all who attended.
Rosemary P.

National Theatre Live, Antony & Cleopatra
Sat, Jan 19, 2019
On a cold and windy Saturday afternoon a group of six of us attended the National Theatre's filmed play of Shakespeare's Antony and Cleopatra. The cast was comprised of Ralph Fiennes and Sophie Okonedo along with a cast of nineteen very talented actors, four musicians and two supernumeraries. The costumes and sets were most impressive. Before the film started we were provided with background information on the play by the Director and on the costumes by the costume Designer. The costumes were made by National Theatre staff.

National Theatre Live distributes world-class theatre straight from the stage to cinema screens in the UK and around the world. The live screenings started in 2009 and are shown in 2,500 cinemas in 65 different countries! You can reach National Theatre Live to find out about upcoming productions on nationaltheatre.org.uk.

Following the play some of us went to a local eatery for a meal and interesting conversation.
Maureen C.

Mystery Afternoon at the Rose
Sun, Jan 13, 2019
What an evening you missed by not coming to see Robbie Lane and the Disciples at The Mount Pleasant Rose on January 13th. The UK Connexion was well attended and everybody enjoyed the great music by this well established Toronto band. Robbie had two special guests which kept everyone wondering who they were and we were not disappointed.

Good food, drink and conversation in between the lively numbers was enjoyed by all.
Maureen D.

Elephant & Castle
Sun, Jan 6, 2019
Elephant & Castle Click on image for Slideshow
The event on Sunday evening, January 6, at the Elephant and Castle proved most enjoyable. Host (and review writer) Christine was expecting a small group, due to being just after Christmas and the cold wind blowing down King Street, but 16 people came out and we all had a good time, engaging in lively conversation, mingling with drinks in hand, and followed by a good dinner.

We welcomed a couple of new members: Julie and Valerie, who we hope will join us for more events in the coming year.
Christine Q.

Jazz at The Rose on Mount Pleasant
Sun, Dec 9, 2018
On a cold Sunday afternoon, Maureen's debut event at The Rose on Mt Pleasant was a great success where seven of us enjoyed good conversation, good food and listened to great music courtesy of The Climax jazz band. Our table proved quite popular in that we got a number of the band members visit us during their break, along with Dorothy Rose who, at 96, still belts out the songs with the band. We also had a man who was very interested and eager to learn more about the UK Connexion - alas, when we told him you had to be single to be a member, he hurried back to his table and his partner - all in good fun!

Well done, Maureen.
Christine Q.

Climax Jazz Band, The Leaside Pub
Sat, Nov 17, 2018
Leaside Pub Click on image for Slideshow
A group of us joined host Peter at the Leaside Pub on Saturday November 17 to enjoy The Climax Jazz Band, the $10 steak, and the wide selection of beer and wine. Dorothy Rose entertained us with four numbers - still going strong at age 96! Although none of us was lucky enough to win the "door prize" Chris, the band-leader, gave us a complimentary copy of the band's latest CD.

Thanks to host Peter a good time was had by all.
Christine Q.

Dinner at Magic Oven
Sun, Nov 11, 2018
Magic Oven Click on image for Slideshow
We had an amazing time at the Magic Oven with all the UK Connexion members who attended. The wine at $15.00 for a half carafe was wonderful and everyone was in such a great mood. There were ten of us in all. Those of you who did not attend should regret this. What a fun evening.

Thank you Sham for a great first event.
Sondra H.

Quarry Restaurant Supper
Fri, Oct 26, 2018
Five people met at the Quarry Restaurant on Friday, October 26. A small group, but we were able to chat with each other, with holiday travels and the stock market (way over my head) topics of interest. The meals must have been tasty, as five empty plates were returned to the kitchen.

I will arrange another visit in the spring.
Rosemary P.

Dinner at the Bier Markt
Sun, Oct 14, 2018
Seventeen members attended the new venue at the Bier Markt on the Esplanade on Sunday, October 14. This is proving to be a very popular event.

The food was excellent, it came quickly and the server was great.
Cheri W.

Port Credit Waterfront Stroll
Mon, Oct 8, 2018
Port Credit Click on image for Slideshow
On Thanksgiving Day seven UKC members enjoyed a morning stroll around Port Credit. Inclement weather kept many people away but not the fearless UKC. Oli led us on a tour of the Credit River Park followed by the lakefront walking paths. We ended our adventure at the cozy Arch Top Vinyl Cafe which served a tasty array of lunch choices. A trip back in time surprised those who went downstairs to see the huge collection of 60's era LP and 45 records.

Thank you Oli for a great outing.
John R.

Thanksgiving Dinner at Harbour Club
Sun, Oct 7, 2018
Thanksgiving Click on image for Slideshow
Elephant & Castle
Sun, Oct 7, 2018
Elephant and Castle Click on image for Slideshow
On Thanksgiving Sunday a small, lively, entertaining group of nine, including our gracious hostess, Christine, met at the Elephant and Castle on King Street for appetizers and dinner. It was a quieter evening than usual in the pub. We enjoyed many stimulating conversations, together with English beer or wine, to accompany the complementary appetizers. Later, we sat down to dinner as a group. We meet at this location at 6:30 pm on the first Sunday of each month.

You are very welcome to join us. Just come to the Elephant and Castle and the staff will be happy to introduce you to our group.
Vivienne W.

Hike In Palgrave Conservation Area
Sun, Sep 30, 2018
Hike Palgrave Click on image for Slideshow
It was an overcast day when seven of us met at the Bolton Tim Hortons mid-morning to tackle a hike through the Palgrave Conservation Area on Sunday, September 30. Mary and Arnold ably led us along the quiet, forested trail for two and a half hours. We took water breaks as needed and had a midday break for snacks along the way. Afterwards we relaxed with good food and drinks at the Toby Jug pub in Bolton and had a lively conversation about the use of the word "Madam" and other preferred terminology for women amongst the group!

This is a favourite hike, I remember doing it in winter the first year I joined the UK Connexion four years ago and hopefully Mary and Arnold will organize another one like it this winter!
Susie M.

Climax Jazz Band Leaside Pub
Sat, Sep 29, 2018
The sun was shining and the weather was seasonably chilly on September 29 but the atmosphere inside the Leaside Pub was very warm. 14 people joined our wonderful host, Marilyn, to enjoy the great music and also to listen to their vocalist, Dorothy Rose, who at 96 wowed us all with her vocal powers. Most of us chose the steak special dinner that the Leaside Pub offers on Saturdays and enjoyed that, washed down with our various choices of drinks.

Altogether, a good time was had by all.
Maureen D.

Golfing Fun Day
Sun, Sep 23, 2018
Golfing Fun 2 Click on image for Slideshow
What a day for champions! On September 23rd, Tiger Woods ended his drought and came up with his 80th win of a major golf championship… we got to see his final strokes at the Wild Goose which followed a great and beautiful day of golfing at Scarlett Woods. There were eight of us, and Liz managed to win some new golf balls by capturing both the closest to the pin on the 5th, and the longest drive on the 14th holes. We were joined by another 4 at the Wild Goose, including two new members, Jan and Chris.

There will be more golfing and dining before the season ends... come and join us!
Liz M.

Play at Village Players Theatre
Sun, Sep 23, 2018
Village Players Click on image for Slideshow
18 UK Connexion members attended the Village Players Theatre on Sunday, September 23 to see a performance of Beth Henley’s Pulitzer Prize-winning drama Crimes of the Heart. The cast provided an excellent performance that was appreciated by all who attended. Afterwards, a number of us walked to the Bread and Roses Bakery Café to enjoy a light supper.

Thank you Mary for an enjoyable afternoon and we look forward to attending more of their productions.
Ron K.

Singles Professional Network Dance
Sun, Sep 9, 2018
Click on image for Slideshow
The dance at the Old Mill was enjoyable, at least for me and I think the rest of our little group of seven also enjoyed themselves. The rain that threatened held off, at least long enough for a pleasant stroll to and from The Old Mill. The Old Mill itself was wonderful as always. We were in the Brulé room which neither cramped nor swallowed us. Although not the least expensive I’ve ever had, their drinks were served promptly by professional and courteous staff. The DJ was very good; not too loud or soft and kept the dance floor busy with favourites all night. There were a few excellent dancers but most seemed quite content shuffling along.

I'd be happy to host the club's next event at The Old Mill.
Steve P.

Elephant & Castle
Sun, Sep 2, 2018
E and C Click on image for Slideshow
Thirteen members enjoyed mingling and dinner on Sunday September 2 at the Elephant and Castle. Three of the 13 guests were new members: Jacqueline, Greg and Steve.

All of us engaged in lively conversation on a variety of subjects!
Christine Q.

Music On The Waterfront
Sun, Aug 12, 2018
Music Waterfront Click on image for Slideshow
The splendid weather added to our enjoyment of the Toronto Music Garden event on August 12 featuring a trio of musicians playing Appalachian country music and songs. Our host, Ann, along with Liz, Maigii, Irene, Dawn, Peter and Christine enjoyed sun and shade as we listened to the music. Afterwards we strolled east to Harbourfront and after some decision-making settled on a quiet-ish spot to enjoy a drink and a meal, watching the tour boats boarding passengers for dinner cruises. There was much laughter from our table as we talked about the pros and cons of a cheap trip to China, Globe and Mail obits, the woes of former relationships, and local politics!

Thanks to Ann for arranging this most enjoyable event.
Christine Q.

Pool Party BBQ
Sat, Aug 11, 2018
Pool Party Click on image for Slideshow
On Saturday, August 11, sixteen UKC members enjoyed a gorgeous, sunny day at Gary's house for a BBQ and cooling off in his pool. We covered many topics of conversation including, NASA, exotic vacations, health, politics and future UKC events. Gary also had some nice background music playing and I just want to mention to ladies that enjoy dancing, Gary loves to dance! Near the end of the party, a special announcement was made that Shirin and Rob, two long time UKC members will be getting married next Friday, August 17. Congratulations go out to them for a very happy life together. What a beautiful ending to our day!! After most of the ladies left, most of the guys were still hanging out.

Thank you very much Gary for hosting this outstanding event at your home.
Mary J.

Elephant & Castle
Sun, Aug 5, 2018
Elephant & Castle Click on image for Slideshow
At first, this evening looked like it would an evening of Ron and eleven UKC ladies. Much to Ron’s disappointment, John, Ian & Chris showed up late. There were 14 UK members in total who all enjoyed good conversation, drinks and a good meal.

Kudos to our server, Kate, for a job well done.
Ron K.

New Orleans Jazz Grossman's Tavern
Sat, Aug 4, 2018
Twelve UKC members gathered on August 4 at Grossman's Tavern on Spadina Ave. On the outside the building looks quite ordinary but in fact, the inside is a Second Empire House built in 1884. In 1952 the building was purchased by Louis Grossman and the tavern was born. It is the home of The Happy Pals, a 7-piece jazz band (the liveliest band in town), playing toe-tapping New Orleans party music. They have been performing at Grossmans every Saturday for 40 years. You are encouraged to sing, dance or just sit back and enjoy the music. Beryl and I gave a couple of Fred and Ginger type performances and then Susan and Tom gave a more sedate and traditional dance.

Following the jazz we retired to our regular restaurant on Spadina that offers a wide selection of Canadian and Asian dishes, even an all-day breakfast. Everyone enjoyed the evening, and I hope to see you at a future Grossman's evening.
Rosemary