UK Connexion Logo

The UK CONNEXION

Event Reviews

Squire Pub Restaurant
Sun, Sep 17, 2017
Squire Pub Click on image for Slideshow
On September 17 there was a nice turnout of twenty members who enjoyed lively conversation while mingling and having a drink. Complimentary snack platters of meatballs and chips were served by the Squire staff. We then sat down for good pub meals and continued good conversation and lots of laughs.

The Squire Pub is a great place to meet new people so hope to see more members and their friends at this event next time!
Mary J.

Hike and Lunch in High Park
Sun Sep 3, 2017
Click on image for Slideshow
Five UKC risk-taking members began our hike in High Park under a threatening sky, on September 3, but we were soon rewarded for our optimism with a bright, warm day. Our leaders, Joan and Dorothy, were well informed and shared historical facts about the evolution of High Park. The wildlife in Grenadier Pond was exquisite. The photographers in the group captured the statuesque egrets, so perfectly poised and reflected in the water. At the park zoo we saw the now famous capybaras and indulged them with their favourite veggies on a stick. Reindeer greeted us at the fence, though the bison, yaks, highland cattle, sheep and a shy wallaby, remained safely within their enclosures.

We then strolled beneath the flower laden baskets of the ‘hanging gardens’ and along the hillside to the sunken garden. It was an absolutely delightful walk through this natural, historic, diverse Park. We concluded our tour with a leisurely lunch at Grenadier Restaurant. Another UKC member joined us, and we told stories, laughed at jokes, exchanged opinions and shared experiences. This was my first outing with UKC and it was a happy, memorable one.

A huge thank you to Dorothy and Joan for this lovely day.
Lynne J.

Dinner/Mingling Squire Pub Restaurant
Sun, Aug 20, 2017
Squire Pub 5 Click on image for Slideshow
UKC Golf Tournament
Sun, Aug 27, 2017
UKC Golf Tournament Click on image for Slideshow
Nine golfers, all experienced players – 6 ladies, 3 gentlemen - making up three threesomes, enjoyed eighteen holes of golf on a bright sunny day with a refreshing gentle breeze and an uncrowded well-maintained golf course. Following the match, the members enjoyed companionship, lively conversation, refreshments, and the presentation of prizes in the clubhouse. Joan won the prize for the longest drive on the fourteenth fairway and Gary for driving closest to the pin on the fifth green.

Seven golfers proceeded for dinner on the patio at the Wild Goose Bar & Grill – where they were joined by five other UKC members, including new member Brian. Welcome Brian. Fred entertained, to the delight of all, with three Magic routines.

Thank you Joan and Dorothy for sponsoring the Golf Tournament and Wild Goose Dinner
Fred M.

Walk Along the Humber River
Sun, Aug 6, 2017
Humber Walk Click on image for Slideshow
On Sunday, August 6th, a group of seven of us took a walk along the Humber River starting from lovely James Gardens at Royal York Road. The hike was hosted by Joan and Dorothy and what a beautiful sunny day it was! There was a bridal party at the start of the trail and lots of families out enjoying the rare (for 2017!) summer-like day. It was a nice opportunity to get fresh air and exercise and good conversation!

We walked at a good pace for about 45 minutes to Old Mill Road, then went up to Bloor St. and enjoyed lunch at the Dark Horse Pub, a very nice English-style alehouse serving classic pub fare. We were joined there by five more members, and everyone ate well. Whether it was the home-made burgers or the lunch specials or salads, the food was fresh and tasty and went down well with a beer or two!

Many thanks to Joan and Dorothy who continue to host these walks within Toronto.
Susie M.

Hang Out By The Boats
Sun, Aug 12, 2017
On Saturday afternoon, August 12, a small group of eleven UK Connexion members went to the Toronto Hydroplane Sailing Club to join our host, Marilyn, for a summer blast barbecue party. The weather was great with lots of fresh air and a great table outside overlooking the water. Lots of fun, great conversations and good food. Like John's 30th anniversary party by the lake in June, it was a lovely outside, scenic afternoon/evening, enjoyed by everyone.

Thanks so much Marilyn!
Lesley L.

Elephant and Castle
Sun, Aug 6, 2017
What a fun evening we had at the Elephant and Castle on Sunday, 6th August (courtesy of Christine). The evening weather was lovely so people had no problem getting there. Originally there were only six ladies but then – in a big rush – five more ladies arrived and four men. We had the pleasure of meeting two new lady members and they seemed to enjoy the easy conversations about varied topics. There was a lot of laughter as usual but as we were constantly moving about poor Bill (our harried waiter and Hugh Laurie look-alike) had to rein in our high spirits to take our orders. He managed beautifully.

The Elephant and Castle is nicely situated opposite Roy Thomson Hall and near St. Andrew subway stop so it is very convenient to get to. Why don't you come along on September 3rd - our next gathering?
Maureen D.

Grossman's Tavern
Sat, Aug 5, 2017
Grossman's Tavern Click on image for Slideshow
Seventeen of us turned up for this fun afternoon of music and dancing at Grossman's Tavern. I'm told this is the largest turn out to date for this event.

The Dixieland jazz band "The Happy Pals" played three rousing sets of music and many people danced. We walked to the Red Lounge restaurant afterwards for dinner. The menu is eclectic and the prices very reasonable. I hope to see other members at our next visit to Grossman's Tavern scheduled for August 26th.

Thank you Ed for hosting this event.
Sandra Q.

Golf Tournament and Dinner at the Wild Goose
Sun, July 30, 2017
Golf and Wild Goose Click on image for Slideshow
Twelve golfers, all experienced players – 8 ladies, 4 gentlemen - making up three foursomes, enjoyed eighteen holes of golf on a bright sunny day with the temperature around 30 degrees and a refreshing gentle breeze. Welcome to new member Gary, who is an excellent golfer. Following the match, the members enjoyed lively conversation, cold drinks, and the presentation of prizes in the clubhouse. Liz won for the longest drive on the fourteenth fairway and Gary for driving closest to the pin on the fifth green. Fred presented John with a collage of 20 photos taken at the 30th Anniversary Pot-Luck Luncheon and Garden event.

Ten golfers proceeded for dinner at the Wild Goose – where they were joined by two other UKC members. Fred entertained, to the delight of all, by presenting a Multiplying Wine Bottles magic routine in which 8 wine bottles were produced. This was followed by a Telephone Number Prediction mentalist routine in which Fred successfully predicted a telephone number - out of 529,000 numbers in the Toronto residential directory.

Golfing and then dining on the patio of the Wild Goose were both very enjoyable events.
Joan B.

A Stroll Through The Guild Inn Arts Festival
Sat, July 29, 2017
Guild Inn Click on image for Slideshow
A small group enjoyed a warm, sunny, blue-sky day at the renovated Guild Inn in Scarborough. The grounds were delightful and the Arts Festival outdoor booths were varied and innovative. We explored the old Toronto carved stone building facades, saved from the wrecker’s ball, placed along the paths and flower beds of the 50 acre park. We were entertained by a young lady soprano from Toronto, whose sweet, lush and rounded tones filled the gardens and a folksy rock trio played many favourites, on the outdoor stage. We enjoyed fresh home-made burgers and bratwurst in the Beer Garden surrounded by greenery.

Everyone agreed it was a very different venue and extremely enjoyable.
Judith J

UKC 30th Anniversary
Sat, Jun 24, 2017
30th Anniversary Click on image for Slideshow
Saturday June 24 was a momentous day for the UK Connexion – 56 of us celebrated the 30th Anniversary of the founding of this unique club. It is an amazing accomplishment for any club considering the number of other social options nowadays and it is all due to John Pettitt's inspiration, dedication and generosity. Events in those early days included an overnight house boat cruise (18 members on two boats), car rallies, and a dinner/dance on Captain John’s floating restaurant. For years John coordinated a full programme of events including sharing his lovely house on Lake Ontario for summer parties. There have been many volunteers over the years who have relieved John in coordinating the events, helping with the UK QUARTERLY newsletter and maintaining the website but John still puts in countless hours.

So we were very blessed this year when we arrived to a perfect day. Groups formed all over the garden: sitting in the shade of the various colourful canopies and umbrellas or on the deck beside Lake Ontario. Finger foods were handed round by volunteers; then delicious potluck dishes for the main course and finally desserts catered by Christine’s SWEET LITTLE BUSINESS. There were lots of chuckles as we looked at the pictures of ourselves going back 30 years – how young we looked then! But the collages brought back memories of many wonderful events over the years. Happily the UK Connexion is thriving and there were many newer members present so we can hope that the club will still be as successful 30 years from now.
Ann G

Pot-Luck Scrabble Party
Sat, Jun 17, 2017
Click on image for Slideshow
While the usual hi-jinx, laughter, and good-hearted teasing went on, we enjoyed the generous hospitality of our host, Jackie. From the group’s delicious fare of roast chicken, potato salad, tender braised pork and mushrooms and other delectable dishes to the apple pie, sponge cake and brownies, and the artistically-designed fruit plate served with a unique vodka-laced crème fraîche, we dined well! Oh yes, and the Scrabble game resulted in Rennie being our winner with Joan a close runner-up; Jackie awarded prizes on the winners. We concluded the evening with photos!

We are hoping Jackie will make this enjoyable Pot-Luck and Scrabble evening a seasonal event!
Christine Q

Luncheon at the Chelsea Restaurant
Sun, Jun 11, 2017
Chelsea Restaurant Click on image for Slideshow
A lively group met for lunch on June 11th at the Chelsea Restaurant. Thanks Mary for organizing this popular event. Everyone thought their meal was "excellent and delicious" and our group was great fun. We appreciated the owner's humour and he told an interesting story about Bert Peer (Hockey Hall of Fame) who previously lived in the house. Even with the extremely high temperatures, some of the group enjoyed a long walk after watching the Dragon Boat races.

Many said they are looking forward to another event at this location.
Terry G

Penthouse Pot-Luck Patio Party
Sat, Jun, 3, 2017
Penthouse Party Click on image for Slideshow
Many thanks to Bruce for hosting his Penthouse Party Saturday June 3rd. The weather was warm and friendly after our "rainy season". Some 40 UK Connexion members were greeted at the door by Gabriele. Starters for people to munch on with their drinks were ready while they chatted with others or took in the city view from the terrace. The Pot Luck buffet filled two long tables, with a great choice of mains including salads plus many scrumptious desserts. Christine had been hard at work arranging everything for us.

Then DJ Ian Hunt got everyone moving on the dance floor. All in all a great evening.
Rennie F

Live Jazz & Blues
Wed, May 31, 2017
Live Jazz Click on image for Slideshow
Six members met up for good camaraderie, good food and exceptionally good music at the Shore Grill & Grotto. Mary shore knows where and when to host a good event. Acclaimed musician Carson Freeman, on tenor and soprano saxophones, plus some flute, plays there every Wednesday evening with guests. On this occasion his guests were Scott and Julian, keyboards and percussion. The percussion instrument was a cajόn which, as well as being the instrument, is also the player's seat. Scott and Julian added great and perfectly harmonized vocals. All three contributed exceptional talent.

I would have described most of their music in the way they played it as smooth jazz. However, Carson told me it was pop soul and I suspect he might know better. Among the many songs were: "Just the Two of Us", "Georgia", "Stand by Me" and "Don’t Go Changing".

Thank you, Mary J, for organizing and hosting yet another great event.
Ed T

UK Connexion Golf Tournament
Sun, May 28, 2017
Golf 3 Click on image for Slideshow
Seven UKC members (4 ladies, 3 gentlemen), all experienced golfers and perennial supporters of the UKC Golf Tournaments, enjoyed 18 holes of Golf under comfortable conditions – temperature in the low 20’s, lightly clouded sky, light breeze, and uncrowded fairways – but somewhat wet underfoot in low areas because of heavy rain in preceding days. Fortunately, rain which had been forecast for mid-day held off until late evening. For the nineteenth hole, the golfers enjoyed refreshments and conversation in the club house. Five golfers then continued on to the Wild Goose, where they were joined by three guests, for dinner on the patio.

Thanks to Joan and Dorothy for organizing the Golf Tournament and the dinner at the Wild Goose.
Fred M

Lionheart Pub/Restaurant
Wed, May 24, 2017
Lionheart pub Click on image for Slideshow
Lionheart Pub/Restaurant was the venue where 11 singles mingled over drinks and hors d'oeuvres and later, chewed the fat over dinner. Hosted and organized by Ed T. to welcome newcomers and existing members to an event in a largely untapped part of the GTA, the evening turned out to be a group of friendly people enjoying each others company chatting about subject matters that covered sports, travel, environment, movies and theatre and other matters of interest.

Ed who pioneered this new event is looking for support from attendees of this event and others to bring in new guests to increase the membership of UKC in general. So to continue Ed's initiative, and extoll the benefits of this club let us invite friends for the next shindig.
Phil M

Dinner/Mingling, Elephant & Castle
Sun, May 7, 2017
Elephant & Castle Click on image for Slideshow
Two lucky men and ten gorgeous women graced the tables of the Elephant and Castle on Sunday evening, May 7, for mingling, great conversation, good food and excellent service (thank-you, Jay). It was good to catch up with friends and we were all happy to see Beryl enjoying an evening out. Our group included three new members - Debbie, Helen and Olga, and one long-time member, Annie.

We do enjoy ourselves, don't you know, and hope if any of the readers of these reviews are at a loose end they'll join us on the first Sunday of the month.
Christine Q

UKC Golf Tournament
Sun, Apr 30, 2017
Golf Tournament Click on image for Slideshow
There was no talk of birdies and eagles at the Wild Goose on this last day of April. Mother Nature scored below par (good in golf, not so much weather-wise). However, a warm and inviting ambiance dispelled grey clouds and shivers as ten members in attendance at the 19th hole enjoyed convivial company, food and drink. Thanks to Dorothy and Joan for making arrangements for the golf tournament and dinner at the Wild Goose.

No doubt the next tournament will be much anticipated and well attended to make up for today's disappointment. Fore!
Dorothea M

UKC Golf Tournament & Lunch
Sun, Apr 23, 2017
Golf Click on image for Slideshow
Six UKC members (3 ladies, 3 gentlemen) enjoyed 9 holes of Golf under perfect conditions – blue cloudless sky, temperature in the low 20’s, low humidity, a gentle breeze. The greens and fairways were in excellent condition. Low areas were somewhat squishy from the heavy rain of the day before.

For the 10th hole, the Golfers enjoyed refreshments at the outdoor patio of the Golf Centre. The balmy weather brought out many people to enjoy their first golf of the season.

Thanks to Ian for sponsoring this event.
Fred M

Dinner/Euchre Monk's Kettle
Wed, Apr 12, 2017
Monk's Kettle Click on image for Slideshow
Twelve UKC members (10 ladies and 2 gentlemen) enjoyed an evening of Euchre, craft beer, and delicious pub fare at the Monk’s Kettle. To aid patrons in ordering, complementary samples of beer are offered. As in the previous two month, the competition was very challenging and exciting as only experienced Euchre players participated.

We extend a warm welcome to two newcomers to the Euchre group – Maureen and Danny.
Fred M

Humber River Walk & Dark Horse Restaurant Lunch
Sun, Apr 9, 2017
Humber River Click on image for Slideshow
On April 9th, six men and women came out for the walk along the Humber River in Etobicoke. Weather-wise it was a great day for hiking. Joan and Dorothy, our hostesses for the day, organized the walk so that people could start out from either James Gardens or the Old Mill. The scenery with the rushing water and the big railway bridge was a nice diversion. We had a scrumptious lunch at the Dark Horse Pub (modest prices) on Bloor Street West, where three additional people joined us for lunch on the outdoor patio, one being new to the UK Connexion. As we ate lunch, we talked about meeting new people and the friendships forged through the UKC, and discussed the various events that appeal to our members. The return walk was a little slower, but the lead group kept us in their sights at all times and waited if need be.

Thanks to Joan and Dorothy for a good event with plenty of exercise, delicious food and drinks and lots of socializing.
Eva C

An Evening With A Blue Whale At The ROM
Fri, Apr 7, 2017
A small group of people met Ann at the ROM on the evening of April 7 to view the Blue Whale exhibit. To be honest it is doubtful I would have visited the exhibit on my own, but it would have been a loss.

On entering the exhibit you are overwhelmed by the size of the whale skeleton. Exhibits told the story of the whales beached in Newfoundland in 2014 and how the ROM, with the help of locals, removed tons of blubber from one of the whales in order to put together the bones for this exhibit. You could sniff a watch housed in a glass box to give you an idea of the stench they had to contend with. One exhibit was a Smart Car painted as a heart to represent the size of the whale heart. Many computerized exhibits showed many facets of the whale life, food, habitat, etc. Apparently no-one has ever witnessed the birth of a blue whale.

I came away with so much knowledge of these majestic whales and how people are endeavouring to keep them from dwindling numbers. A most enjoyable evening.
Rosemary P

Dinner/Mingling Squire Pub Restaurant
Sun, Mar 26, 2017
Squire Pub 4 Click on image for Slideshow
The Squire is one of our most popular events and was attended by an incredible 33 members.  This large turnout was no doubt as an honor to our dear friend and long-term member Bob Clark who passed away peacefully on March 20, 2017.  Bob was a UK Connexion member for many years and most recently he was the host of the equally popular Bedford Academy evening.  Ed Thurygill gave a well-documented talk on the many different planes Bob flew, his love of flying and his days of service during the second world war.

His long time friend Beryl Haines brought her two sons and their wives and a nice photo of Bob for his tribute.
Cheri W

Climax Jazz Band/ Leaside Pub
Sat, Mar 25, 2017
Leaside Pub Click on image for Slideshow
A group of UK Connection jazz enthusiasts, 12 ladies and 3 gentlemen met at the Leaside Pub to hear the Climax Jazz Band who started to play promptly at 4 pm. Our host Ed was there to greet everyone at a large table reserved for us. The Pub is known for its great selection of beers and pub-style food. They even have a Saturday steak special including two sides starting at just under $10 which a number of us ordered and found was delicious.

The Climax Jazz Band have been regulars at Toronto bars and clubs since the seventies playing traditional jazz. Do you remember Acker Bilk? The Band leader and founder Chris Daniels welcomed the UK Connexion from the stage and later at the table. He also lent our host Ed a very tall hat decorated with a Union Jack and took a neat photo of Ed wearing it. The place was packed with a very enthusiastic audience and we sang along to some of the real oldies our parents probably sang to us.

It was a really enjoyable time and a number of our group said they were looking forward to going again.
Marilyn G

Annual General Meeting
Sun, Mar 19, 2017
AGM Click on image for Slideshow
Held as per tradition at the TRANZAC Club, the meeting attended by 20 UKC members, including our five Decision Making Officers, went very smoothly. The club’s officers were all re-acclaimed, with newish member, Monique Veenings, taking on the Steering Committee position of Assistant Membership Director. Planned events for the club’s 30th anniversary year were discussed with much enthusiasm.

The meeting was followed by a pizza party which was enjoyed by all attendees.
Anna M

St. Patrick's Day Celebration
Fri, Mar 17, 2017
St. Patrick's Day Click on image for Slideshow
On a bright and sunny March 17 thirteen UKC members got together for a St. Patrick's Day celebration lunch at The Brogue Inn in Port Credit thanks to our host who was in the line-up bright and early and secured some tables for the group. The pub was brimming with people of all ages from toddlers to seniors, all wearing the green in some interesting and unique ways and enjoying the delicious food and libations (some of us could even be spotted downing a green beer or a Guinness!). While there wasn't much quiet time for "the Crack", there was non-stop hand-clapping, foot-tapping, and singing along to the lively music of the traditional Irish band who entertained us, and their wonderful fiddler.

Sure, it was a grand day altogether!
Meg

Dinner/Euchre Monk's Kettle
Wed, Mar 15, 2017
Monk's Kettle Click on image for Slideshow
The bone-chilling temperature didn’t discourage 9 UKC members (8 ladies and 1 gentleman) from showing up to enjoy delicious pub dining and an evening of Euchre at the Monk’s Kettle. All 9 participants were experienced Euchre players. Chris – an excellent Euchre player – was the only newcomer to the group. Welcome – Chris!

Thanks to Dorothy and Joan for their usual excellent job of sponsoring and organizing the UKC Euchre evenings in addition to the UKC Golf Tournaments.
Fred M.

Bowling/Lunch at Astoria
Sun, Feb 26, 2017
Bowling Click on image for Slideshow
What a way to spend a Sunday afternoon: Bowling! Six ladies and one gentleman had lots of laughs. Then off to a nearby restaurant for a bite to eat, getting acquainted and good conversation.

Thanks Mary for such a great idea. Let's do it again.
Helen

Dinner/Euchre – Monk’s Kettle
Wed, Feb 8, 2017
Euchre Click on image for Slideshow
Ten UKC members (8 ladies and 2 gentlemen) enjoyed an evening of Euchre, craft beer, and delicious pub fare at the Monk's Kettle - the destination for craft beer & exceptional gastro pub fare in Etobicoke. As last month, the competition was very challenging and exciting as only experienced Euchre players participated.

Thanks to D. from Scarborough and F. from Etobicoke for valiantly keeping up the male presence.
Fred M

"15/15" Dinner/Mingling Elephant & Castle
Sun, Feb 5, 2017
Although it was a cold evening and the Superbowl was on, we had a group of nine at the Elephant & Castle on Sunday. It was good to see Bob C out again after his stay in the hospital in December. The pub was humming and our group cozied up with two tables and enjoyed great conversation, a few drinks and comforting 'pub' food. We had a new server, Michelle, who was very attentive to all our needs.

If you are ever at a loose end on the first Sunday of the month, come along and join us!
Christine Q

Winter Hike At Palgrave
Sun, Feb 5, 2017
Winter Hike Palgrave Click on image for Slideshow
Seven UKC members participated in the hike; 2 ladies and 5 gentlemen. A few more ladies would have been welcome. But, we still had fun.

We joined our sponsors and expert hike leaders - Arnold and Mary - to enjoy the fresh country air and scenic views on a 2-hour hike in the Palgrave Forest & Wildlife Area. The Palgrave Trail is varied with some steep elevations. Overall, the terrain comprises beautiful rolling hills with thick forest – mostly white pine and red pine. Isolated icy patches hidden by 2 inches of freshly fallen snow made for potentially treacherous conditions underfoot. Most members wore ice grippers which greatly reduced the possibility of slipping. The ice grippers are worn over regular hiking boots. They are available at Lee Valley and Mountain Equipment Co-op.

After the hike, we enjoyed lunch at The Toby Jug: Bolton’s Original British Pub in the Bolton Country Plaza. Thank you Arnold and Mary for a job well done! Your efforts were greatly appreciated by everyone.
Fred M

Village Players Theatre
Sun, Jan 29, 2017
Village Players Click on image for Slideshow
On a cold winter Sunday ten of us met in the lobby of The Village Players to see the comedy 'Cakewalk'. Our thoughtful host Mary had arrived early and was able to save seats so we could all sit together as there are no reservations at this small but cozy theater. The play was hilarious and I believe we all had a good laugh.

Afterwards we walked a couple of blocks to The Bread and Roses Bakery Cafe which has a wonderful assortment of freshly baked pastries and decadent desserts, but also a couple of homemade soups and savory offerings.
Marilyn G

Seven44 Live Band Swing/Jazz and Dancing
Sat, Jan 28, 2017
Seven44 2017 Click on image for Slideshow
Nine UKC members really enjoyed this popular event at Seven44. Our lovely host Marilyn always makes everyone feel welcome and we all enjoyed good conversation and lots of laughs. The York Jazz Ensemble, a 9-piece band, have been playing together for 17 years. They play a wide range of music (swing, jazz, blues and rock and roll). We had a great time dancing to their music.

There is a good selection of drinks, pub food, pizza and healthy salads.
Mary J

Pot Luck Supper & Scrabble
Sat, Jan 21, 2017
Scrabble Click on image for Slideshow
We had a wonderful evening on January 21st enjoying each other's company while feasting on the best crudités from Robin, Meg's pad Thai and Marion's salad amongst other great dishes. Jean's trifle and Anice's brownies were delicious, but Christine's Bakewell tart was so beautiful it was a shame to cut in to it – but worth it and all the calories consumed in the evening! The pièce-de-résistance was Ann regaling us with her escapades during her south-west US van trip: what a remarkable & gutsy adventurer she is! Once we got down to playing Scrabble one could hear a pin drop, although the brain-gears were definitely in motion! Jean emerged the winner and in each game we all benefited from expanding our own vocabulary.

This is a delightful way to spend an evening with like-minded friends, both seasoned and new, and sharing a meal together.
Jackie

Mingling & Dinner at The Old Spaghetti Factory
Sun Jan 22, 2017
Scrabble Click on image for Slideshow
We had another fun-filled evening at The Old Spaghetti Factory on January 22nd; first event there for 2017. Well attended by thirteen UK Connexion members, almost evened out with seven ladies and six gentlemen. Lots of active conversation, about movies, gliders, holidays – and a little bit about Trump but not too much!! The weather was good, no snow or ice so getting to this colourful and interesting restaurant was no problem.

Great socializing with everybody – make sure you attend Chris's next event there on February 24th! Not to be missed!
Rennie

Dinner/Mingling Squire Pub Restaurant
Sun, Jan 15, 2017
Click on image for Slideshow
On January 15th, seventeen members and newcomers enjoyed our monthly Dinner/Mingling event at the Squire Pub on Bloor Street West at Islington. This is a popular event where newcomers are always made very welcome. In fact, on Sunday, we welcomed Karen and Elaine, who promised to come again and meet up with all the new friends they made. Ian was our new host this evening, replacing Maz who has been our host for many years. Thank you, Maz, for always being there and doing such an excellent job. We hope we will see you again when the weather gets warmer and you can make the long drive you have always willingly made.

This pub is very accessible by subway or car and it's on street level without steps to get access which suits me as I too don’t like to clamber up and down steps to get into a pub. We are steps away from the Islington subway and there is ample parking either on the street or underground for $5 in the Sunlife building opposite. We arrive at 6pm, mingle and enjoy the free snack platters, and then sit down to very good pub food, lively conversation and cheerful service. Come and enjoy a very pleasant evening. You are guaranteed to meet some very interesting people.
Marjory S.

Dinner/Euchre Monk's Kettle
Tue, Jan 3, 2017
Monk's Kettle Click on image for Slideshow
Eleven hardy and intrepid UKC members (8 ladies and 3 gentlemen) braved the wet blustery weather and rain-soaked streets to enjoy an evening of Euchre at the Monk’s Kettle – the destination for craft beer and exceptional gastro pub fare in Etobicoke.

The competition was very challenging and exciting as only experienced Euchre players participated this time.
Fred M.

New Year's Eve Dinner/Dance
Sat, Dec 31, 2016
New Years Click on image for Slideshow
Twenty-two UKC members (12 ladies and 10 gentlemen) joined a large crowd from the Singles Professional Network to enjoy a delicious dinner and dancing at the beautiful Grand Luxe Ballroom located on Bayview Avenue just south of Finch Avenue. DJ George Andrew’s repertoire of the newest tracks and crowd favourites kept the room rocking non-stop until the wee hours of the New Year. Champagne and dessert were served at midnight.

Many thanks to Lin and Ion for sponsoring this opportunity.
Fred M.

Dinner/Mingling Squire Pub Restaurant
Sun, Dec 18, 2016
Squire Click on image for Slideshow
Mingling/Indian Buffet Adventure
Sun, Dec 11, 2016
Indian Cuisine Click on image for Slideshow
We met at the Pump House Grille for a drink then walked over to the Indian Cuisine on the Lake in Port Credit for a delicious buffet lunch. There we warmly welcomed Lynn attending her first UKC event after hearing about us 16 years ago! Even though it started to snow heavily, several of us decided to go for a short walk beside the Credit River. On our way, we observed a lost dog desperately eating what looked like grass and leaves. Candy and I went to buy him some dog food while John calmed him down enough to determine his identity by reading his tags without being bitten in the process! His name is SHADOW and he is a beautiful Black Lab mix who has quite the personality.

A lady and her daughter also came to his rescue and Animal Services was called. It was very cold and the storm was getting worse so off he trotted to their home awaiting pick-up with the huge rawhide bone they gave him in his mouth like a very proud boy. We followed-up with Animal Services where Shadow was very content snuggled up in his big puffy cushion at the shelter. Thanks to the team effort, Shadow was reunited with his owner three days later. This is the best early Christmas gift for both of them!!
Mary J

Dinner/Euchre at the Monk's Kettle
Wed, Nov 30, 2016
Monk's Kettle Click on image for Slideshow
Sixteen UKC members (12 ladies and 4 gentlemen) enjoyed a great evening of Euchre at the Monk’s Kettle. It was great to see all four of our reserved tables filled to capacity with four players at each table.

This small friendly pub, with a quaint and welcoming atmosphere, is reputed to have the best craft beer selection in Etobicoke. The pub offered a very good selection of delicious food – locally sourced and cooked fresh.

Thanks to our sponsors, Dorothy and Joan, for their usual stellar job in organizing the UKC Euchre Events as well as the UKC Golf Tournaments.
Fred M

Play at Village Players Theatre
Sun, Nov 20, 2016
Feedback from all 8 ladies including myself as the host who attended A Party to Murder play was extremely positive. Who Done It... too many twists and turns to the very end, none of us could figure it out! The actors are all very professional considering the price we paid for the play (Seniors $20/Adults $24). We were happy to have three non-members attend their first event. Two of the ladies have already signed up as members. Welcome ladies!

After the play, we all went to the Bread and Roses Bakery Cafe for tea/coffee, danishes, salads or quiche while discussing the play and getting to know others we had not met before. An excellent time was had by all. Three of us then continued on to another UKC event a short distance away at the Squire Pub Restaurant.
Mary J

Terra Cotta Hike
Sun, Nov 13, 2016
Terra Cotta Hike Click on image for Slideshow
What an absolutely lovely day we had, just perfect for a hike!!  We were a group of eight plus two canine girls. Imagine being accompanied by two Black Russian Terriers!  What a bonus that was, thanks to John. Fred, our entertainer, performed several juggling acts to the delight of everyone at the rest stop. Never a dull moment! We wound up the day for lunch at the Terra Cotta Pub and enjoyed good food and good company.

Thank you to Mary and Arnold for arranging a delightful excursion.
Linda T

"15/15" Dinner/Mingling Elephant & Castle
Sun, Nov 6, 2016
UK Connexion members enjoyed a fun evening at the Elephant and Castle on November 6th. The good weather brought out a nice mixture of ladies and gentlemen "mingling" and talking about various topics from Trump, Shakespeare, a member's new hairstyle (or lack of) and what to eat for dinner. As usual, there were lots of laughs during the dinner, helped along by a glass of wine – or two!

Another good evening for the UK Connexion!
Maureen D

Singles Professional Dance
Sat, Nov 5, 2016
Dance Click on image for Slideshow
Eleven UKC members (6 ladies and 5 gentlemen) joined a large crowd from the Singles Professional Network to enjoy dancing to the non-stop music of DJ Davy Jones at the beautiful Italian social club Famee Furlane located at Islington Avenue and Steeles Avenue in Vaughan.

Many thanks to Lin and Ion for sponsoring this opportunity.
Fred M

Seven44 Live Big Band Dancing
Sat, Oct 29, 2016
Seven44 Click on image for Slideshow
Marilyn organized a fantastic late afternoon event that ten of us enjoyed. The York Jazz Ensemble had a good variety of music for their Halloween party to suit everyone's taste (big band, jazz, blues and lots of rocking). Lesley won a prize for her Disco costume. We all had lots of laughs, fun dancing and enjoyed good food.

Looking forward to Marilyn hosting another event soon!
Mary J

The Brogue Inn
Thu, Oct 27, 2016
Brogue Inn Click on image for Slideshow
Seventeen members arrived at the Brogue Inn to be greeted by our host, Mary. We enjoyed excellent food and company and were entertained by the Macintyre Band whose members chatted with us and played several of our requests. Some of those present appreciated seeing new members attending their first UK event. A successful evening.

Thanks Mary.
John R.

Gourmet Buffet/Mingling/South African Safari
Wed, Oct 26, 2016
African Safari Click on image for Slideshow
Nick hosted this excellent sold out event for approx. 37 UKC attendees. The venue was perfect with our own private room. After first mingling with other attendees, we had the delicious gourmet buffet and were very impressed with the variety of food, reasonable price and attentive service. Nick's narration and screen presentation of his trip to South Africa followed. He visited Johannesburg, Cape Town, the Cape of Good Hope and Robin Island which were all very scenic. It was nice to learn about their culture and lively music. Nick then went on a Safari trip to Amakhala Game Reserve to see the animals roaming free... absolutely beautiful. Nick's accommodation for the Safari was a luxury tent.

It didn't end there, next was a video tour of the International Space Station where we saw how astronauts work in space. Nick was also able to connect, via NASA to the weather station on Mars in real time and noted the time of day and weather conditions.

To top off the evening, Nick surprised us with a tasting of honey closely similar to the Fynbos honey that is only produced around the Cape of Good Hope, that we all enjoyed.

Thank you Nick for hosting this outstanding event as I know lots of time, effort and research went into it. Looking forward to your next presentation!
Mary J

Golf Tournament
Sun, Oct 23, 2016
Golf Click on image for Slideshow
Who says it is too cold to golf? Not ten of us who jumped at the opportunity to maybe have a last go at hitting that wee white ball this year. The unbalanced ratio of 5 women to 4 men could have been made even by the wannabe player (see photo attached) but unfortunately he was disallowed from playing when he refused to pay the levy! Newcomers were introduced to Fred's sense of humour where he and John pretended to fix Fred's "dislocated" shoulder. This writer must admit that she was horrified when she heard the crunch of the fixing of this dislocation - yes, I fell for it, hook, line and sinker!

We all had a great time – the course is in great shape and the usual prizes were up for grabs. After an exhilarating 4 hours in the bright sunshine and time spent crunching those leaves as we looked for lost balls, we repaired to the club house for the prize distribution and then most of the party went onto the Wild Goose for the usual meet-up.
Seeta N

Old Stable Pub & Chelsea Restaurant
Sat, Oct 15, 2016
Old Stable Click on image for Slideshow
Mary organized a lovely evening on October 15th for thirteen participants (4 men and 9 ladies). We met up at the Old Stable Pub for a mix and mingle where we had a drink and some munchies and got acquainted with one another. Then we walked over to the Chelsea Restaurant where we had a fantastic dinner and enjoyed the dry sense of humour of the owner/host who made us most welcome. Everyone had a wonderful time and made some new friends. Pictures were taken to support the fun we had.

Looking forward to attending this event again.
Jan W

Dinner/Euchre at The Monk's Kettle
Wed, Oct 12, 2016
A great evening of cards was enjoyed by 11 players. A delicious meal was enjoyed before cards. Novices had a chance to brush up on the game rules of play. Being a card player in general I found it easy to follow the game. Then we joined in a lively game or two.

Thanks to Dorothy and Joan for organizing the event.
Pauline A

Thanksgiving Dinner at Harbour Club
Mon, Oct 10, 2016
It was a perfect late afternoon for a stroll along Harbourfront prior to arriving at Irene’s place. A large UKC group had already gathered in the condo restaurant when I arrived just before 6 pm on Thanksgiving Monday. With a wonderful view of Lake Ontario, we were led to elegantly laid tables and served our choice of drinks from the wait staff. The menu included soup or salad, stuffed roast turkey or lamb, vegetables and a choice of potato, followed by apple or pumpkin pie and coffee. And all for a very reasonable price. The atmosphere was pleasant, with lots of visiting and chatting. The resident chef came out to mingle with us after dinner.

Irene thanks all the UKC guests who attended and looks forward to her Oktoberfest party coming up soon – check your newsletter!
Christine Q

"15/15" Dinner Mingling, Elephant & Castle
Sun, Oct 2, 2016
Lively conversation and good fellowship took place at the Elephant & Castle pub on October 2nd. Twelve folks ate and drank together: five men and seven women. The food was lovely and hot, while the service was excellent. The threat of thunderstorms outside made the comfortable pub all the more attractive to the animated UK Connexion!

Well done, Christine!
Anita H

New Orleans Jazz, Grossman's Tavern
Sat, Sep 24, 2016
Grossman's Click on image for Slideshow
The Happy Pals are a seven-piece jazz band based in Toronto, playing authentic old-time New Orleans party music. They’ve been featured every Saturday at Toronto’s legendary Grossman’s Tavern for over forty years. Those aren't this scribe’s words - they were stolen from the band's website. We are fortunate in having them here in Toronto along with a large number of other bands/groups of talented musicians playing various kinds of jazz.

On Saturday, September 24th, 13 of us enjoyed listening, and some of us dancing, to the Happy Pals' music at Grossman's Tavern where we were part of a full house. As usual, it finished with a "conga line" (in New Orleans jazz it’s called a "second line") around much of the bar, a line which included all band members with mobile instruments. The tune was "When the Saints Go Marching In" but so many saints marched in that the line eventually jammed to a halt.

Afterwards we found our way to the Red Lounge across the street for some good, reasonably priced food.
Ed T

Live Jazz & Blues, Port Credit
Wed, Sep 14, 2016
Click on image for Slideshow
On September 14th, a beautiful late summer evening, 13 of us, four men and nine ladies (plus our gracious host Mary J.) met at the Shore Grill and Grotto in the heart of Port Credit for dinner and great music. It was a warm evening and the garage-style front windows were rolled up and it was comfortable and not chilly at all. There was a good selection of food on the menu. The spicy pizza I had was hot and very tasty plus large enough to bring home more than half for another meal. Carson Freeman, a terrific sax and clarinet player, was the resident Wednesday night entertainment and his guest on stage this week was David Butler on keyboard. Both are extremely talented musicians and able to play just about any song you could request. David belted out songs from Billy Joel, Elton John, Michael Bublé and many other well-known entertainers plus some beautiful ballads, and the tiny dance floor was full. Carson's mastery of the saxophone was a delight to listen to, and one UKC member approached him about taking saxophone lessons – a lifelong dream of hers as it is her favourite instrument. Carson has agreed! What a thrill for our member.

I hope there will be an opportunity to return to the Shore Grill and Grotto as it was a most enjoyable evening.
Marilyn G

The Old Spaghetti Factory
Sun, Sep 11, 2016
Spaghetti Click on image for Slideshow
Fifteen people enjoyed mingling in the bar at the famous Old Spaghetti Factory followed by dining in a cosy private room with French doors that muffled the background noise in the main restaurant. It was a wonderful evening that, ironically, was almost cancelled two days before because only two people had called to reserve. In the end, we got the numbers because several members just dropped in without reserving. Dinner was delayed while management scrambled to find us seating for the unexpected people. The OLD SPAGHETTI FACTORY is a very popular restaurant where RESERVATIONS ARE A MUST.

A big thank you goes to our host Chris who handled the situation with aplomb and helped to find us that special room. It will be great if we can use it next time. Members are asked to reserve as per published instructions.
John P

Lunch at ViVetha Bistro & Stroll
Fri, Sep 9, 2016
ViVetha Bistro Click on image for Slideshow
There was no rain on Ed's parade, and the sun shone well for the walk after lunch. The ViVetha Bistro on Queen Street East has wonderfully artistic platings of good food, which 8 guests plus Ed enjoyed at lunch time on September 9th. Such a variety .... from exquisite breakfast egg choices, to lunch specials like crusted salmon, to sandwich plates with salad and fruits. After lunch, a quick trip to the nearby chocolate shop for a treat, and then a leisurely stroll along the Beach Boardwalk. Some made it as far as the Balmy Beach club, with nearby property now under reconstruction, and a couple of us continued in the heat to Woodbine and Queen before a TTC ride home.

We've made Ed promise to host this again!
Liz McG

"15/15" Dinner/Mingling Elephant & Castle
Mon Sep 5, 2016
Elephant & Castle Click on image for Slideshow
Thirteen of us, eight ladies and five men, mingled and dined at the Elephant & Castle on the evening of September 5th. That seemed a reasonable turnout for a Labour Day Monday. Of those thirteen, three were relatively new or returning members – always good to see. The E&C meeting is one of several monthly UKC events which encourage standing and mingling before sitting down at the dining table, thus making them ideal for new or nearly new members to be introduced to others. The E&C has been a monthly fixture in our programs for over ten years and the food and service have always been excellent. Long may mingling and dining at the E&C continue.

Thank you, Christine, for continuing to host this event despite all else you're involved with.
Ed T

Empire Sandy Cruise
Sat, Sep 4, 2016
Empire Sandy Click on image for Slideshow
On the morning of Sunday September 4th a group of UK Connexion members (10 Ladies and 4 gentlemen) met at Starbucks prior to setting forth, along with a large group of other would-be sailors, on the magnificent tallship "Empire Sandy", moored at Spadina and Queen's Quay, Toronto. A more perfect day could not have been ordered for this splendid short cruise: blue skies, brilliant sunshine sparkling on little "white ponies", gentle breezes, not a trace of humidity and Lake Ontario millpond calm. It was especially delicious when the engines were cut and we sailed only "under canvas". Passengers were entertained by Scottish Highland dancers and a group of musicians including a kilt-clad piper. One very young lady also gave a faultless display of "The Sailor's Hornpipe". A well-stocked galley provided drinks plus delicious Scotch pies and sausage rolls. Following the cruise 13 members of our group repaired to "The Fox and Fiddle" (a short walk away) for good food and conversation.

"Empire Sandy", it should be noted, has a very interesting history beginning in 1943 when she saw war service as a "Deep Sea Tug". She was eventually due to be salvaged but saved at the eleventh hour by the Founder of Nautical Adventures (Mr Norm Rogers), who converted her into the authentic 19th-century vessel we see today.

Grateful thanks are offered to UK Connexion's organizers; also to the Scottish Studies Foundation for this opportunity to participate in their "25th Annual Scottish Sailing Cruise". We eagerly anticipate the 26th!
Joan H

Seven44 Live Jazz
Sat, Aug 27, 2016
Seven 44 Click on image for Slideshow
On August 27 Ed organised a get-together of about seven lassies and three lads to appreciate the music of the York Jazz Ensemble. These goings-on were held at Seven44 on Mount Pleasant. The band leader Jake Fowell and his excellent seven-piece band played 3 sets of great music, from favourite ballads to rock and roll.

Dancing took place, food was consumed and a good evening was had by all.
Peter D

Golf & Lunch
Sun, Aug 14, 2016
Golf Click on image for Slideshow
Good day for golf today! On Sunday August 14th, the temperatures had cooled a tiny bit and there was a nice breeze too, as 6 golfers teed off at the Braeben Academy course in Mississauga – four gents and two women. What a hilly challenge, but delightful, and 9 holes were just enough before we headed off for refreshments and a delicious lunch at Fionn MacCool's.

Thanks to Ian for hosting.
Liz McG

Luncheon Chelsea Restaurant, Port Credit
Sun, Aug 7, 2016
Chelsea Click on image for Slideshow
Wow! Mary J did us proud! Her lunch on Sunday August 7th in the heritage Chelsea Restaurant in Port Credit was a huge success. Seventeen of us, 5 men and 12 ladies, filled a private room. When Mary collected the levy she collected signatures. No, not for the privilege of paying her the $5 levy! But, to record that we agreed to share in the winnings of a Lotto ticket which she had purchased for the MAX on Friday August 12 with a jackpot of $60M (plus 41 additional prizes of $1M)!

Could the anticipation of winning be responsible for the loud animated conversions that preceded lunch? Judging from the noise level, people were having tremendous fun! But when the lunches arrived, calm descended as we savoured the, beautifully presented, succulent meals. After desserts we had another surprise; there was a draw for bottles of Santa Carolina Chilean wine. Beryl S and John P were the lucky winners. Apparently, Mary bought the prizes from the proceeds of a previous lottery win. Thanks for your generosity Mary! (Note to future hosts: you are not expected to do likewise.)

After lunch, we strolled a few yards to relax and listen to a group playing at the LIGHTHOUSE called BLUSH with a very talented lady singer. It was the perfect way to end a wonderful event. Here’s hoping you’ll be hosting more Mary.
John P

Dinner/Euchre at the Monk's Kettle
Wed, Aug 3, 2016
Monks Kettle Click on image for Slideshow
A great time was had by seasoned card sharks along with novices after a tasty dinner at The Monk's Kettle, a delightful neighbourhood pub-resto in the Royal York/Bloor area. A vast array of choices of craft beers along with a lovely local cider helped the dozen ‎players, half of whom learned the rules from the ever-patient team of Joan and Dorothy, while the experienced group matched wits. This is a good activity for meeting other members and breaking the week up.

Thanks to Joan and Dorothy for utilizing their teaching skills and of course organizing and running this regular monthly activity.
Jackie B

Simcoe Day Mingling/Indian Buffet
Mon Aug 1, 2016
Indian Buffet Click on image for Slideshow
On the Simcoe Day Holiday Monday a total of 10 people arrived at the Pump House Grille between 11.30 and noon and we were greeted warmly by our host John Pettitt. There was time for a drink or two of a sociable nature and a chance to meet and talk to each other before we all headed out to the restaurant "Indian Cuisine on the Lake" for our lunch. This is only a block away so just a short walk.

This is a small and very friendly restaurant with a good selection of drinks including an incredible mango juice cocktail one of our ladies loved. Lunch was served on large silver platters and included butter chicken, beef curry, a spicy eggplant stew, chick peas, rice, salad and even a small samosa. The food was delicious and refills were offered if anyone had room. We then had a choice of rice pudding or mango ice cream for dessert. All but one of us went for the amazing ice cream, a perfect and light ending to our meal. It was a really good lunch at a reasonable price.

After all that food a walk was definitely in order, and in beautiful Port Credit there is a promenade along the Credit River to where the River meets Lake Ontario. It is not a long way to the end and it felt good to walk and let our lunch settle. Being a hot summer day there were a lot of other people out enjoying being by the water and watching a steady stream of boats coming and going – but still room on benches if anyone who wanted to sit for a while. Many thanks to John for arranging this most enjoyable afternoon for us.
Marilyn G

Last night of the Proms: A Diamond Jubilee
Tue, Jun. 19, 2012
A Star is Born
A noisy cheerful bunch of UKC members enjoyed dinner at the Elephant and Castle prior to a concert at the Roy Thompson Hall. Armed with flags, we were eager to participate in the "Last night of the Proms." Once the Toronto Mendelssohn choir and members of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra were seated, we welcomed the conductor, Bramwell Tovey on stage. He entertained us with his "tongue in cheek" humour throughout the evening.

Later on, we were to laugh out loud when he introduced "her majesty" in honour of the Diamond Jubilee. Her wit and dry humour was well received. Both orchestra and choir were outstanding and our spirits soared when we enjoyed music such as Handel's "Zadok the Priest." Soprano, Laura Whalen and baritone, James Westman sang superbly. James was quite the heartthrob and wooed many a lady in the audience. My personal favourite was Alison Balsom, trumpeter, especially when she played Casta Diva variations from "Norma" by Bellini. The clarity and tone of her music tugged at the heart strings. Acclaimed as the best dressed lady of the evening and invited to stand before the entire audience was our very own Kim. She was attired in a beautifully fitted red suit with matching brimmed hat decorated with union jacks. Well done Kim.

We left the concert hall in high spirits and replete with good music which, as we all know, is both wonderful and nourishing food for the soul.
Sonia K.